Your Guide to Vegan Condiments and Sauces

What’s even in mayonnaise, anyway? While some condiments contain animal-derived ingredients, most are vegan! Of course, specific ingredients vary depending on the brand, but this quick guide shows you which condiments are usually animal-friendly and which you should be careful about.

✅ Generally Vegan Condiments 

  • A.1. Original Sauce
  • Agave syrup
  • Chamoy
  • Chili crisp or chili oil
  • Chimichurri
  • Gochujang (Korean chili soybean paste)
  • Harissa
  • Hoisin sauce
  • Hummus
  • Ketchup
  • Maple syrup
  • Marmite
  • Miso paste
  • Mustard
  • Relish
  • Rice vinegar
  • Salsa
  • Sauerkraut
  • Sesame oil
  • Soy sauce
  • Sweet chili sauce
  • Tahini
  • Tamari
  • Toum (Lebanese garlic sauce)
  • Wasabi
  • Zhug (Yemenite hot sauce)

❌ Check the Ingredients—Choose Vegan Versions of These Condiments

Many of these condiments may contain ingredients for which animals are harmed, so be sure to check the label.


Aioli is traditionally a vegan condiment made with just garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt. However, many restaurants make it with eggs stolen from chickens. Try making the traditional version yourself at home, or add crushed garlic to some vegan mayonnaise for a quick copycat.

Barbecue Sauce

While many barbecue sauces are vegan, the ingredients also vary greatly among brands. Be on the lookout for honey, anchovies, and other nonvegan ingredients.


Chutney, a common condiment in Indian cuisine, comes in many variations. While vegan versions abound, some may contain yogurt or other ingredients derived from animals. Check with the restaurant to make sure the ones you use are vegan.

Cocktail Sauce

Some cocktail sauces may contain Worcestershire sauce, which typically is made with anchovies. Brands such as Primal Kitchen and Heinz make cruelty-free versions for dipping your vegan shrimp.

vegan seafood products available in stores and online

Comeback Sauce

Common in the South, this spicy mayo sauce isn’t friendly to chickens, since it contains their eggs. Whip up a quick batch of this vegan Mississippi comeback sauce instead.


Curry sauces can vary widely, and some may contain animal-derived ingredients such as dairy or fish sauce. Double-check the ingredients to make sure they’re vegan.

Fish Sauce

This condiment commonly used in Asian cuisines can be made with seaweed instead of fish. Ocean’s Halo Vegan Fish Sauce and Tofuna Fysh Sauce are just a couple of options.


Stealing the product of bees’ hard work isn’t cool. Leave them alone by buying vegan sweeteners instead. Agave and maple syrup are widely available options, and there’s also Vegan Un-Honey from The Single Origin Food Co. You can even make honey at home from dandelions or apples.

Honey Mustard

It’s super-easy to make a bee-friendly version of this condiment—simply mix regular mustard with a vegan sweetener like agave or maple syrup. Or try ATLAS MONROE’s Bomb Honee Mustard.

Horseradish Sauce

Although horseradish itself is vegan, the sauces made from it normally contain cream and sometimes egg. Follow Your Heart makes a dairy- and egg-free version, and you can easily make vegan horseradish sauce at home.

Hot Sauce

Many brands, including Cholula, Frank’s RedHot, Tabasco, Tapatío, and most Sriracha brands are vegan. However, always read the label for things like honey and other cruelly obtained ingredients.


Kimchi may contain fish sauce or shrimp paste, but many vegan brands can easily be found at your local grocery store. Lucky Foods and Chi Kitchen are two brands that offer vegan options, and you can make vegan kimchi at home.


There’s no need for this condiment to contain eggs that have been stolen from chickens. Vegan mayonnaise is easy to find, and big brands such as Follow Your Heart and Best Foods are available in most grocery stores.


Nutella contains milk and whey, which makes it unkind to cows. These vegan Nutella alternatives are free from cow’s milk, and they’re delicious.

Oyster Sauce

Oysters hide in their shells when they sense danger—leave these individuals alone and choose vegan oyster sauce options instead. This recipe for Vegan Oyster Sauce is packed with rich umami flavor from mushroom powder, coconut sugar, and soy sauce. Some brands, including Kikkoman, also make vegan oyster sauces.

Peanut Butter

Most peanut butter is vegan, but be sure to double-check the label for honey, which is used to sweeten some brands.


Pesto generally contains cheese, so avoid it at restaurants and double-check the ingredients when buying it premade. Sprouts and Trader Joe’s both make delicious store-bought vegan pesto.


This citrus-soy dipping sauce common in Japanese cuisine may contain bonito flakes, which are made from tuna. Check the ingredients and be sure to choose a fish-free sauce.


Yogurt is the base of this Indian condiment, but you can make a cow-friendly vegan raita by using unsweetened, plain nondairy yogurt and sour cream.

Ranch Dressing

Ranch dressing often contains milk and egg and sometimes contains sour cream. However, there are many options for vegan ranch dressings and dips that don’t contribute to the suffering of cows and chickens.


This mayonnaise-based sauce is common in French and Creole cuisine, but you can easily make it egg-free with vegan mayonnaise. Try Bryant Terry’s Creole Rémoulade in his recipe for a Cornmeal-Fried Oyster Mushroom Po’Boy.

Sour Cream

Sour cream is fermented cream made from milk meant to nourish baby cows, not humans. Vegan sour cream options are available in many grocery stores.

Tartar Sauce

Go egg-free with Vegenaise Tartar Sauce from Follow Your Heart, or make your own to serve with vegan fish and chips.


This Mediterranean cucumber sauce is made with yogurt, but you can find vegan versions from Trader Joe’s and other brands or make it at home.

Worcestershire Sauce

Check the ingredients for fish-friendly versions, and skip the brands made with anchovies. Annie’s Homegrown, The Wizard’s, and Kroger are all vegan options.


Want to learn more about popular vegan products? Check out our “Accidentally Vegan Food and Snacks List.” Start your vegan journey off right by signing up for our 3-Week Vegan Challenge:

I Want Weekly Recipes and Lifestyle Tips!

By submitting this form, you’re acknowledging that you have read and agree to our privacy policy and agree to receive e-mails from us.

Stay up to date on the latest vegan trends and get breaking animal rights news delivered straight to your inbox!

By submitting this form, you’re acknowledging that you have read and agree to our privacy policy and agree to receive e-mails from us.

Get the Latest Tips—Right in Your Inbox
We’ll e-mail you weekly with the latest in vegan recipes, fashion, and more!

By submitting this form, you’re acknowledging that you have read and agree to our privacy policy and agree to receive e-mails from us.