Calling all hot-sauce lovers! Sriracha—a chili sauce that can be found in tons of U.S. supermarkets and restaurants—has quickly become a household favorite among those who enjoy a little heat with their favorite eats. But is Sriracha vegan?
We have good news for all you chili-sauce devotees: Yes, most Sriracha brands are vegan! Popular ones, such as those from Sky Valley Foods by Organicville and Ninja Squirrel, feature animal-friendly (and gluten-free) ingredients. Sriracha is made by combining sun-ripened chilies with sugar, salt, garlic, vinegar, and other vegan ingredients. Yum!
So go ahead—top off your favorite vegan pizza, tacos, burgers, mac ‘n’ cheese, stir fry, cauliflower wings, or other vegan dishes with a squirt of delicious vegan Sriracha sauce. You can even make vegan peanut butter–Sriracha swirl brownies:
Click here to get a copy of The Veggie-Lover’s Sriracha Cookbook, an all-vegan cookbook featuring 50 recipes that pair perfectly with the vegan “rooster sauce.”
Other Vegan Hot-Sauce Options
Variety is the spice of life, right? Spice up your condiment shelf with these other delicious vegan hot-sauce options:
- Frank’s RedHot
- The Pepper Plant Original California Style Hot Sauce
- The Original Louisiana Brand Hot Sauce
Bonus: Taco Bell—which serves tons of vegan options that go great with chili sauce—offers four vegan hot-sauce flavors: mild, hot, fire, and verde (pictured below).
If you’re not sure whether a hot sauce is vegan, just check the ingredients. Some brands contain honey or other cruel ingredients, so always be sure to read the label.
Visit our vegan recipes page to discover many plant-based meals that’ll complement any one of these hot-sauce selections, and sign up below to receive weekly vegan food news like this straight to your inbox!
PETA is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide websites with a means to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.