Skip to Main Content

How to ‘Veganize’ Your Passover Feast

Passover is an important holiday in the Jewish faith, lasting eight days and commemorating the freedom of the Israelites from slavery in Egypt. The first day of Passover begins with the Seder feast, which can easily be made vegan.

Many vegans who celebrate Passover use a flower on the ritual Seder plate—to symbolize spring and life—instead of the traditional egg. Using an egg from a chicken who spent her short existence squeezed inside a tiny crowded cage is no way to celebrate life! And in place of the customary shank bone, many Jews use a beet, as allowed in the Talmud.

Here’s how to replace the animal foods often found on the Passover table with delicious, healthful, and humane dishes:

How to Set a Vegan Seder Plate

The highlight of #veganPassover: matzah ball soup 🙌

A photo posted by Emily Savage (@tofuandwhiskey) on

Matzoh

No breads or leavened grains can be consumed during Passover, so egg-free matzoh (unleavened flatbread) is the way to go.

Charoset

This is traditionally a mixture of chopped nuts, apples, honey, spices, and wine. Substitute agave or Bee Free Honee for honey, and your charoset will be vegan.

Zeroa

Red beet is permitted on the Seder plate.

Maror

The Torah commands that “bitter herbs” be eaten. Romaine lettuce, horseradish, and celery all suffice as bitter herbs.

Beitzah

You can substitute an egg with an avocado, a flower, or a white eggplant (without the stem).

Karpas

Any green will do, but spring parsley is a popular choice. Dip the green in saltwater or vinegar (depending on your tradition) before consuming.

Wine

The Haggadah also calls for four cups of wine to be consumed over the course of the Passover Seder ceremony. Look for a vegan wine that’s marked with a P, which means that it’s Kosher for Passover.

Traditional Passover Recipes

Chopped “Liver” Spread

Vegan Matzo Ball Soup

Gefilte “Fish”

Other Recipe Ideas

Creamy Pesto Quinoa

Matzo Meal Pancakes

Chocolate Matzo Brittle

Click here to learn more about having a vegan Passover. Shabbat shalom and Happy Passover!

Respond

Connect With PETA

Submit