Whether you’re participating in Dry January or Damp January or you just want a tasty drink to sip on at any time throughout the year, mocktails are what you need. These refreshing beverages are a bit fancier than your standard soda or sparkling water, but they’re still alcohol-free, so everyone can enjoy them.
Many of these types of drinks are already vegan (including several store-bought options), but keep an eye out for ones made with ingredients that harm animals. Honey—which is stolen from industrious bees who work hard to produce it—is one common ingredient you might see, along with cow’s milk and even sometimes eggs.
But we’ve got you covered with some of our favorite vegan mocktail recipes to help spark your creativity:
This tropical mocktail features a blend of pineapple and creamy coconut. To keep it vegan, be sure to buy your canned coconut cream from brands that don’t force monkeys to pick coconuts.
Even non-alcoholic whiskey sour recipes sometimes contain egg, but this one is made with aquafaba (the liquid from a can of chickpeas) instead. It’s also made with Spiritless Kentucky 74, a vegan whiskey alternative.
A favorite for weekend brunch, this Bloody Mary recipe leaves the liquor out but retains all the flavor and nutritional benefits of this savory drink. And by using a vegan Worcestershire sauce, you won’t be mixing fish into your drink, either.
Who says you have to stop drinking eggnog after the holidays? This rich, creamy mocktail can be made with your favorite store-bought vegan nog, but it’s elevated with a homemade coconut caramel sauce. Mmm.
This take on a classic highball cocktail uses Kin Euphorics’ High Rhode non-alcoholic liquor, which is made with a combination of adaptogens and botanics that are gently relaxing but won’t give you a buzz.
If you want a better-for-you nightcap, this hot toddy–inspired recipe has all you need. Plus, it doesn’t use honey, which is stolen from hardworking bees.
Seedlip’s Spice 94 beverage gives this margarita mocktail a lovely, complex flavor. Plus, this brand doesn’t use fish bladders or gelatin for filtration. (Yeah, some brands do that. )
There are countless vegan mocktail recipes out there to choose from, whether they’re made with non-alcoholic beer, wine, or liquor or just juices and sparkling waters. Be sure to choose ones that don’t use animal-derived ingredients such as honey, eggs, and milk.
For more recipe inspiration and tips for going vegan, order your free vegan starter kit: