Let’s be honest—half the reason we go to the movies is for the sweet and salty treats, and luckily, it’s easier than ever to find vegan movie theater snacks at your local cinema. For example, did you know that the buttery popcorn topping at most movie theaters is probably vegan? The popular movie-theater chains AMC and Regal Entertainment Group both use coconut oil to pop their popcorn. And many theaters across the U.S. offer “accidentally vegan” treats.
The buttery topping ingredients at AMC and Regal vary depending on location, though, so check with your local location about the ingredients.
If you’re going to a theater that is not AMC or Regal, chances are the popcorn might be vegan there, too. When in doubt, call or e-mail the theater ahead of time and ask about the popcorn ingredients. If your movie theater uses butter or if you’re not sure, never fear! There are a lot of “accidentally vegan” candies available, such as Airheads, Dots, Sour Patch Kids, Skittles, and Red Vines, to enhance your moviegoing experience. As if you needed another reason to go to the movies tonight, many soft pretzels at theaters are often vegan—just be sure to ask about the ingredients.
If your local theater is stuck in the Stone Age and doesn’t offer any vegan options or if you’re trying to pinch your pennies (we get it), just fill your tote with your favorite animal-free snacks, such as cut-up veggies, your favorite chips, or a bag of vegan popcorn.
One theater chain, in particular, is going above and beyond the vegan call of duty when it comes to offering animal-free foods. Laemmle Theaters menus are packed with vegan versions of classic theater snacks from Fry Family Food. At three of Laemmle’s locations in Los Angeles, you can grab an Original Veggie Hot Dog, a Meat Free Sausage Roll, or Gluten-Free “Chicken” Nuggets as well as a bunch of vegan cookies from Alternative Baking Co.
Having a movie night at home? These life-changing films about food and animals are readily available to stream from the comfort of your living room.