Published by Michelle Reynolds.

Question: Would you rather eat this?

Or this?

No brainer. Most gelatin (including Jell-O) is made from the boiled skin, tendons, cartilage, ligaments, and/or bones of sensitive cows, pigs, and fish—which is gross and cruel. So if you enjoy eating sweets without boiled tendons and ligaments, sink your spoon into some of our favorite types of vegan gelatin.

Bakol Jel Dessert

Whip up an easy dessert with Bakol’s all-natural, fast-setting gelatin in six flavors.

Simply Delish Jel Dessert

Easy to make, inexpensive, and with only 5 calories per serving, Simply Delish is a go-to—and the brand offers gelatin-free pudding and pie filling, too.

Slrrrp Shots

And because gelatin and adult beverages go together like beer and ping pong balls, Slrrrp Shots offers premade shots that are vegan and come in recyclable packaging.

Lieber’s Unflavored Jel

When a recipe calls for unflavored gelatin, you can easily swap in this one from Lieber’s.

Two other great gelatin swaps come from seaweed: agar-agar and carrageenan.


Agar-agar is a type of seaweed that has natural gelling and thickening properties and works in almost any recipe that calls for gelatin. Bonus: People in Japan have long used it as a weight-loss supplement.


A close relative of agar-agar, carrageenan is a natural thickening agent derived from red algae and used in many of the foods we eat, including everyone’s favorite cinnamon rolls, from Cinnaholic.

Finally, if you’re a DIYer, you can try making your own vegan gelatin with our tried-and-perfected recipe or this one from our friends at Loving It Vegan.

Order Your FREE Vegan Starter Kit

Send Me a Vegan Starter Kit