Gelatin is used as a binder in most of the above-mentioned products. As you may have realized, it is not at all vegan. However, there is a product called “agar agar” that works like gelatin but is vegan. Agar agar is derived from a type of seaweed.
As for vegan marshmallows, there are a lot of sumptuous options. We enjoy Dandies brand, which can be found at health-food stores and some Whole Foods Market stores and also online at these places and Amazon.com.
Isinglass, made from fish gelatin, is sometimes used in the wine-refining process. Read our article “Is Wine Vegan?” for information and links to many vegan wine companies. (A few beers also use this process, so when in doubt, check our vegan beer list!)
Watch out for candy that has a gummy texture, as it often contains gelatin. Be sure to check the ingredients list on the label. Lucky for us, so many candies are accidentally vegan. This list will blow your mind!
When it’s time to buy makeup and other beauty products, always check the ingredients because gelatin can be found in odd places, such as in face masks and nail polish remover. You can search our cruelty-free company database to learn which companies are cruelty-free and/or vegan. Also, check out this article to see our picks for affordable vegan makeup.
Almost all of us grew up eating meat, wearing leather, and going to circuses and zoos. We never considered the impact of these actions on the animals involved. For whatever reason, you are now asking the question: Why should animals have rights? Read more.