Animals are not ours to eat, wear, experiment on, use for entertainment, or abuse in any other way.

Rocky Roadesque Ice Cream Treats

Way back in 1984, the late President Ronald Reagan designated July as National Ice Cream Month. I’m not sure if he would have used the words “ice cream” to include those made from soy, rice, and almond milks, but we sure as hell will!

Many people know where to find nondairy ice cream these days—just about every grocery store out there carries at least one brand—but many people may not realize that vegan versions of all the other goodies that go along with ice cream (and are deemed essential by me) are also available at your average local grocery store. So to celebrate National Ice Cream Month this year, let’s focus on the “accidentally vegan” toppings that are more easy to find than you may think.

rocky_road_esque_ice_cream_2.jpg

 

For my Rocky Roadesque Ice Cream Bowl that is loaded with all the extras, you’ll need the following accidentally vegan items to go with your favorite dairy-free ice cream, and yes, I’ll give specific brands so that you’ll know exactly what to get:

Waffle Cone Bowls: Perhaps the greatest invention ever. The taste of a waffle cone but in a bowl shape so that it can be piled high with toppings. I used Kroger brand.

Chocolate Syrup: Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup is vegan.

Marshmallow Topping: Smucker’s Marshmallow Topping is actually vegan! It’s runny and ooey-gooey, which is perfect for this treat.

Chopped Nuts: Unless they have an additional flavor added, they should be vegan.

Cherries: Use fresh, frozen, or bottled—they should all be vegan.

To create the Rocky Roadesque treat, add a generous scoop of slightly softened dairy-free vanilla ice cream to a small mixing bowl. Drizzle both the chocolate and marshmallow topping over the ice cream in thin streams. With the dull side of a knife, gently swirl the two toppings into the ice cream, being careful not to overdo it. You only want thin ribbons swirled throughout.

Carefully add the mixture to one of the waffle cone bowls, top with additional marshmallow and chocolate, if desired, then add chopped nuts and cherries. Finally, chow down!

For more information on “accidentally vegan” items available in your local grocery store, check out our shopping guide.

Related Posts

Respond
Commenting is closed.
  • WA. Ford says:

    Rock road has marsh mellows in it with contain gelatine an animal by product. God bless this alternative. There are halal and kosher marshellows that are all vegetarian.

  • Chef Krista Huerta says:

    Ashley,
    This looks so amazing!
    I can’t wait to try it. Thank you for this post. I have about 10 sweet tooth’s and it is hard for me to find a perfect vegan treat to satisfy. This looks like it will do the job.

  • Amy says:

    Hi Ashley,

    I can’t speak for all maraschino cherries, but the jar I have appears to be vegan. It does not contain carmine. It uses Red 40 (a coal tar derivative that is vegan) for the color.

  • Ashley says:

    I’m not sure…. but I think marachino cherries are not vegan. They use carmine to color the cherries. Carmine comes from beatles. Yummy….

Connect With PETA

Submit