Skip to Main Content
Animals are not ours to eat, wear, experiment on, use for entertainment, or abuse in any other way.

Is wine vegan?

The majority of people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. During the winemaking process, the liquid is filtered through substances called “fining agents.” This process is used to remove protein, yeast, cloudiness, “off” flavors and colorings, and other organic particles. Popular animal-derived fining agents used in the production of wine include blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), chitin (fiber from crustacean shells), egg albumen (derived from egg whites), fish oil, gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts), and isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes). Thankfully, there are several common fining agents that are animal-friendly and used to make vegan wine. Carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques are all suitable alternatives. Now, the trick is finding out where you can buy these wines. You can check your local organic or health food stores, local organic winemakers, and co-op’s, and most regular wine/liquor stores will order vegan wines upon request.

An extensive list of vegan wines, sorted by country of origin and brand name, is available at www.vegans.frommars.org/wine. The following are examples of a few companies that sell vegan wine online:

Cooper’s Hawk Vineyards: www.coopershawkvineyards.com; 519-738-HAWK
China Bend Winery: www.chinabend.com; 1-800-700-6123
Fitzpatrick Winery: www.fitzpatrickwinery.com; 1-800-245-9166
Frey Winery: www.freywine.com; 1-800-760-3739
Organic Biodynamic Vegan Wine: www.veganitaly.com/index.html; +447786247056
Organic Vintners: www.organicvintners.com; 800-216-3898
Organic Wine Company: www.veganwinesonline.com; 1-888-ECO-WINE
Pure Wine Company: www.purewine.co.uk; 023 80238214
Seghesio Family Vineyards: www.seghesio.com; 866-734-4374
Smithfield Wine: www.petamall.com/PLPShop.asp?RecordID=71; +44 (0161) 273 6070
The Vegan Vine Wines: http://theveganvine.com/ 1-800-ITS-WINE
Thumbprint Cellars: www.thumbprintcellars.com; 707-433-2393
Vinavanti Wines: www.vinavanti.com; 877-4VINAVANTI
Wrights Wines: www.wrightswines.co.nz; 06 868 0967