New Florida Law Is Off the Chain
With a “woof woof” here and a “woof woof” there, dogs in Seminole County, Florida, are celebrating a new anti-chaining ordinance.
|© Reuben Steains|
Bryan and Carla Wilson with Animal Rights Foundation of Florida pushed for the chaining regulation to help protect dogs from neglect and people from bites and in doing so, earned themselves an award from PETA.
The ordinance prohibits dogs from being chained continuously for more than one hour between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. In addition, the owner must be present while the dog is chained, and the chain must be at least 10 feet long. Dogs under the age of 6 months can’t be chained at all, and multiple dogs can’t be chained in close enough proximity to each other that their chains could become tangled. Violators could face fines of $50 to $250 per day. (That’s 100 to 500 biscuits in dog money.)
Click here to learn how to get a chaining ordinance passed and help dogs in your community.
Written by Michelle Sherrow
If your comment doesn't appear right away, please be patient as it may take some time to publish or may require moderation.
- Sorry. No data.