Skip to Main Content

Current Spay-and-Neuter Ordinances

//

The following is a list of communities that have either mandated spaying and neutering, instituted differential licensing, or placed restrictions on breeding.

Arkansas

Blytheville

  • A license is required for any person to have a dog over the age of 3 months. The license fee for animals who are spayed or neutered is half the cost of the fee for intact animals.

SECTION THREE: LICENSE AND REGISTRATION REQUIRED
A: All dogs or cats kept, harbored or maintained by their owners in the City of Blytheville, Arkansas shall be licensed if over three (3) months of age. Licenses shall be issued by the City Collector in the City of Blytheville upon producing a certificate, signed by a licensed veterinarian, that the dog or cat has been vaccinated against the rabies virus within six (6) months prior to the time of application for license and upon payment of a license tax for each dog or cat. The cost will be five dollars ($5.00) for each dog or cat which is spayed or neutered and ten dollars ($10.00) for those which are not. The owner shall state at the time of application for license and place upon printed forms provided for such purpose, their name and address and the name, breed, color, sex and age of each dog or cat owned or kept by them. The provisions of this section shall not be intended to apply to dogs or cats whose owners are non-residents temporarily within the city nor to “seeing eye dogs” which are properly trained to assist blind people when said dog is actually being used by a blind person for the purpose of aiding them in going from place to place.

California

Beaumont

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for dogs and cats over the age of 4 months. Exemptions are provided for animals whose health would be endangered by the procedure and for animals owned by city-licensed breeders. The former must be confirmed with a written statement by a licensed California veterinarian.
  • Owners with unaltered animals may only be cited if they are in violation of another state or local law that concerns possession of a dog or cat.

6.02.080 Mandatory Spay and Neutering. No person shall own, keep, or harbor an unaltered dog or cat in violation of this Section. An owner or custodian of an unaltered dog must have the dog spayed or neutered, or provide a certificate of sterility, or obtain an unaltered dog license in accordance with this Title. An owner or custodian of an unaltered cat must have the animal spayed or neutered, or provide a certificate of sterility.

Penalties issued for failure to spay or neuter a dog or cat shall be enforced as set forth below:

a. An administrative citation, infraction, or other such authorized penalty may be issued to an owner or custodian of an unaltered dog or cat for a violation of this section only when the owner or custodian is concurrently cited for another violation under state or local law pertaining to the obligations of a person owning or possessing a dog or cat. Examples of such state law or local violations include, but are not limited to, the following: failure to possess a current canine rabies vaccination of the subject dog; dog or cat at large; failure to license a dog; leash law violations; kennel or cattery permit violations; tethering violations; unhealthy or unsanitary conditions; failure to provide adequate care for the subject dog or cat in violation of the Penal Code; rabies quarantine violations for the subject dog; operating a business without a license and/or lack of State Tax ID Number; fighting dog activity in violation of Penal Code section 597.5; animals left unattended in motor vehicles; potentially dangerous, dangerous or vicious animals; and noisy animals.

b. Should the owner or custodian of an unaltered dog or cat be found in violation of a state or local law, as stated above, in subsection (1), the owner or custodian shall be required to spay or neuter the unaltered animal in accordance with this section. (Ord. 960, 10/20/09; Section 1)

6.02.090 Mandatory Spay and Neutering-Exemptions. This section shall not apply to any of the following:

a. A dog with a high likelihood of suffering serious bodily harm or death if spayed or neutered, due to age or infirmity. The owner or custodian must obtain written confirmation of this fact from a California licensed Veterinarian. If the dog is able to be safely spayed or neutered at a later date, that date must be stated in the written confirmation; should this date be later than thirty (30) days, the owner or custodian must apply for an unaltered dog license.

b. A cat with a high likelihood of suffering serious bodily harm or death if spayed or neutered, due to age or infirmity. The owner or custodian must obtain written confirmation of this fact from a California licensed Veterinarian. If the cat is able to be safely spayed or neutered at a later date; that date must be stated in the written confirmation.

c. Animals owned by city-licensed dog or cat breeders. (Ord. 960, 10/20/09; Section 1)

Belmont

  • City Code outlines a differential licensing program for dogs and cats, as follows: unaltered dogs $21 ($.50 toward Animal Population Trust Fund), unaltered cats $11, spayed/neutered dogs $11, spayed/neutered cats $6.
  • Having unaltered animals also requires that a breeding permit be obtained for $25.
  • Guardians of unaltered animals are required to pay higher redemption fees when their animals are impounded at shelters. The impound charge is $20 for a spayed/neutered animal and is $40 for an unaltered animal ($30/$60 if an animal is not licensed). Each time impounded, the fee increases: second offense, $30/$60, third offense $90/$100, fourth offense $120/$140 and fifth offense and up $150/$170.
  • If an animal is impounded twice in a three-year period, he or she will be sterilized before being released back to the guardian.

Article IA, Sec. 5-27.5 (a) No person shall own or harbor … any cat or dog over the age of six (6) months … has not been spayed or neutered, unless such person holds either a license to keep an unaltered dog or cat or license and permit for breeding cats or dogs issued by San Mateo County Animal Control Services. (b) A license shall be issued for an unaltered dog or cat if the owner signs a written statement that such animal will not be allowed to breed unless the owner has first obtained a breeding permit.

Article IA, Sec. 5-27.6 (d)(4) Any permit holder advertising to the public the availability of any animal for adoption or sale must prominently display the permit number in any publications in which they advertise. Further, the permit number must be provided to any person adopting or purchasing any animal bred by the permit holder.

Article IA, Sec. 5-27.7(d) Prior to release for adoption, any animal adopted from any animal welfare agency shall be spayed or neutered.

Article IA, Sec. 5-27.8(a) Any permit issued pursuant to section 5-27.6 be revoked if the animal control officer has reasonable cause to believe any of the following to be true: … (3) The permittee has failed to comply with any condition or requirement of the permit or has failed to pay any fee imposed under this Code.

Article IA, Sec. 5-27.9, Penalty for violation. (1) A fine not to exceed $100 for a first violation. (2) A fine … $200 for a second violation within one year. (3) A fine … $500 for each additional violation within the same year.

City of Clearlake

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for dogs and cats over the age of 4 months.
  • Anyone intentionally caring or providing for a dog or cat is declared the “owner” of that animal and must sterilize that animal accordingly.
  • Certain animals are exempted from this ordinance’s provisions.

7-10.1 No person shall own, harbor, or keep within the City of Clearlake, a dog or cat over the age of four months, which has not been spayed or neutered unless the dog or cat is exempted from the provisions of this section pursuant to Section 7-10.3.

7-10.2  Any person intentionally providing care or sustenance for a dog or cat shall be deemed the owner of such dog or cat and shall comply with Section 7-10.1.

7-10.3 The following animals are exempt from the provisions of Section 7-17.1.

(a) Dogs documented as having been appropriately trained and actually being used by public law enforcement agencies for law enforcement activities, or such dogs designated as breeding stock by an appropriate agency or organization approved by the Director of Animal Care & Control after consultation with knowledgeable professionals;
(b) Dogs having been appropriately trained and actually being used as a service dog, such as a guide dog, hearing dog, assistance dog, seizure alert dog, or social/therapy dog, or such dogs designated as breeding stock by an appropriate agency or organization approved by the Director of Animal Care & Control after consultation with knowledgeable professionals;
(c) Dogs documented as having been appropriately trained and actually being used by search and rescue agencies for search and rescue activities, or such dogs designated as breeding stock by an appropriate agency or organization approved by the Director of Animal Care & Control after consultation with knowledgeable professionals;
(d) Dogs or cats certified by a licensed veterinarian as having a health reason for not being spayed/neutered;
(e) Dogs which are appropriately trained and actually being used for herding of other animals, or as livestock guardian dogs, hunting dogs, or such dogs designated as breeding stock by an appropriate agency or organization approved by the Director of Animal Care & Control after consultation with knowledgeable Professionals;
(f) Dogs or cats boarded in a licensed kennel or a business, which boards such animals for professional training or resale;
(g) Dogs or cats which are registered with the American Kennel Club, the Cat Fancier Association or other recognized registry or trained and kept for the purpose of show, field trials or agility trials.

Section 2: The provisions of this ordinance shall not become operative until June 1, 2006.

Hanford

  • All dogs must be licensed with the city, and the license application requires that dogs be spayed or neutered.
  • Those who refuse to alter their dogs must apply for a breeder permit.

6.12.030 License required.
Every person who owns a dog within the incorporated area of the city, shall secure a license from the Animal Shelter, animal control officer or other authority designated by the city for each such dog over four (4) months of age kept for thirty (30) days or longer. The license shall be worn by the dog at all times, except as provided in section 6.12.040. Any dog found without a license tag may be taken up and impounded by the animal control officer or peace officer.

6.12.050 Dog License Application.
The dog license required by this chapter may be obtained by submitting proof of the animal having been spayed or neutered, a current rabies vaccination certificate, furnishing the information required herein and paying the proper fee to the Animal Shelter, animal control officer, any person or entity delegated by and under the supervision of the city, or any division of the Kings County Superior Court. The information required for a license form shall contain a brief description of the dog including the name, age, sex, color and breed of the dog, and if the animal is altered or unaltered, and the name, address and telephone number of the owner. The license shall contain a serial number, the expiration date of the license and such other information as the Animal Shelter may determine. The Animal Shelter or the city’s designee shall keep a copy of the license form on file in their office and the license form shall be open to public inspection. With each license issued, the Animal Shelter or city designee shall also issue a tag made of some durable material. Said tag shall bear the words “City of Hanford,” serial number of the license, and such other information as the Animal Shelter or city designee may determine. The license fee shall be collected at the time the application is submitted to the Animal Shelter or city designee.

6.28.020 Breeder permit and advertising.
A. It is unlawful for any person to breed dogs and/or cats for sale or profit or to advertise for the sale or adoption of such animals without first obtaining a breeder permit.

Hemet

  • A license is required for any person to have a dog over the age of 4 months. The license fee for animals who are spayed or neutered is half the cost (or less) of the fee for intact animals.

Sec. 10-33. – Dog license.
(a) It is unlawful for any person to own, harbor or keep any dog four months of age or older within the city limits for a period longer than 30 days, unless there is attached to such dog a valid license tag obtained from the animal control officer.

(b) Subject to the provisions of subsection (h) of this section, a license shall be issued for each dog upon the payment of the appropriate license fee. The license fee for a neutered male dog or spayed female dog, accompanied by a certificate of a licensed veterinarian that the animal is unable to reproduce, shall be one-half or less than that of such animals which have not been so neutered or spayed.

Hesperia

  • Any impounded animal shall be spayed or neutered at the guardian’s expense before being returned, with the exception of properly tagged and licensed dogs, unless those dogs have been found loose off their guardians’ property on three or more occasions in a three-year period.
  • Any impounded animal shall be properly licensed at the guardian’s expense before being returned.
  • Licensing charges are $50 a year for unaltered dogs and $12 for spayed or neutered dogs.

6.08.020E Any dog found running at large, running loose, or unrestrained off the owner’s property shall be required to be spayed or neutered and properly licensed, at the owner’s expense before being returned to their owner.

Exception: Any properly tagged and licensed dog shall not be required to be spayed or neutered as above unless found running at large, running loose, or unrestrained off the owner’s property on three or more occasions in a three-year period.

Lake County

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for dogs and cats over the age of 4 months.
  • Anyone intentionally caring or providing for a dog or cat is declared the “owner” of that animal and must sterilize that animal accordingly.
  • Certain animals are exempted from this ordinance’s provisions.

4-17 No person shall own, harbor, or keep within the unincorporated area of this County, a dog or cat over the age of four (4) months, which has not been spayed or neutered unless the dog or cat is exempted from the provisions of this section pursuant to Section 4-17.3.
17.2 Any person intentionally providing care or sustenance for a dog or cat shall be deemed the owner of such dog or cat and shall comply with Section 4-17.1.
17.3 The following animals are exempt from the provisions of Section 4-17.1 (a) Dogs documented as having been appropriately trained and actually being used by public law enforcement agencies for law enforcement activities, or such dogs designated as breeding stock by an appropriate agency or organization approved by the Director of Animal Care & Control after consultation with knowledgeable professionals;
(b) Dogs having been appropriately trained and actually being used as a service dog, such as a guide dog, hearing dog, assistance dog, seizure alert dog, or social/therapy dog, or such dogs designated as breeding stock by an appropriate agency or organization approved by the Director of Animal Care & Control after consultation with knowledgeable professionals;
(c) Dogs documented as having been appropriately trained and actually being used by search and rescue agencies for search and rescue activities, or such dogs designated as breeding stock by an appropriate agency or organization approved by the Director of Animal Care & Control after consultation with knowledgeable professionals;
(d) Dogs or cats certified by a licensed veterinarian as having a health reason for not being spayed or neutered;
(e) Dogs which are appropriately trained and actually being used for herding of other animals, or as livestock guardian dogs, hunting dogs, or such dogs designated as breeding stock by an appropriate agency or organization approved by the Director of Animal Care & Control after consultation with knowledgeable professionals;
(f) Dogs or cats boarded in a licensed kennel or a business, which boards such animals for professional training or resale;
(g) Dogs or cats which are registered with the American Kennel Club, the Cat Fancier Association or other recognized registry or trained or kept for the purpose of show, field trials, or agility trials.”

The provisions of this are affective as of June 1, 2006 Lakeport City Spay/Neuter Ordinance (6.24.090–6.24.110) and Clearlake City Spay/ Neuter Ordinance (7-10.1–7.10.3) are exactly the same as the County Spay/ Neuter Ordinance.

Laguna Woods

All cats and dogs age 6 months and older must be spayed or neutered, unless their guardians possess an unaltered-animal permit or a health exemption from a licensed veterinarian.

ORDINANCE NO. 09-03

Sec. 5.05.010 Mandatory spaying, neutering of dogs and cats.
(a) No person may own, keep, or harbor a dog or cat in violation of this section.
(b) An owner or custodian of an unaltered dog six months or older must have the animal spayed or neutered, or provide a certificate of sterility, or obtain an unaltered dog license in accordance with Section 5.05.020. An owner or custodian of an unaltered cat six months or older must have the animal spayed or neutered, or provide a certificate of sterility, or show compliance with Section 5.05.050.3.
(c) The owner or custodian of a cat or dog that is unable to be spayed or neutered without a high likelihood of suffering serious bodily harm or death due to age, infirmity or particular health risks, must obtain written confirmation of that fact from a California licensed veterinarian. The writing must state if the dog or cat may be neutered at some future time. Possession of such document or ability to obtain within fourteen days of either issuance of a citation or impoundment, stating that the animal is unable to be altered at the time of citation or impoundment, shall be sufficient proof of compliance with the requirements of this Chapter.

Sec. 5.05.020 Unaltered dog license; requirements.
An owner or custodian of an unaltered dog over the age of six months must obtain an annual unaltered dog license for the dog. Subject to Section 5.05.030 below, the Animal Services Manager shall issue the license if he or she has determined that all of the following conditions are met:
(a) The dog is one of the following: a competition dog as defined in Section 5.02.010; a dog used by a law enforcement agency for law enforcement purposes; a qualified service or assistance dog as defined in Section 5.02.010; or a dog which is unable to be spayed or neutered as set forth in Section 5.05.010.
(b) The owner or custodian has submitted the required applicationtogether with all required license fees.

Sec. 5.05.030 Denial or revocation of unaltered dog license. Grounds and reapplication.
(a) The Animal Services Manager may deny or revoke an unaltered dog license for one or more of the following reasons:
(1) The applicant or licensee is not in compliance with all of the requirements of Section 5.05.020;
(2) The City has received at least two complaints within a twelve month period, verified by the Animal Services Manager, that the applicant or licensee has allowed a dog to run loose or escape, or has otherwise been found to be neglectful of his or her dog or other animals;
(3) The applicant or licensee has been previously cited, ticketed, sued, fined, and/or prosecuted for violating a state law, county code or other municipal provision relating to the care and control of animals;
(4) The unaltered dog has been adjudicated by a court or an agency of appropriate jurisdiction to be a potentially dangerous or vicious, or to be a nuisance within the meaning of the Laguna Woods Municipal Code or under state law;
(5) Any other unaltered dog license held by the applicant has been revoked;
(b) Notice of denial. The Animal Services Manager shall mail to the owner or custodian a written notice of its decision to deny a license for an unaltered dog which includes the reason(s) for the denial. The denial shall be effective on the date of the notice of intent to deny is postmarked.
(c) Notice of intent to revoke. The Animal Services Manager shall mail to the owner or custodian a written notice of its intent to revoke a license for an unaltered dog which includes the reason(s) for the revocation. The notice shall include a date on which the Animal Services Manager will hold a hearing. At the hearing, the owner or custodian may present any relevant evidence in opposition to the revocation. The hearing will be informal and the rules of evidence will not be strictly observed. Following the hearing, the Animal Services Manager shall mail the owner or custodian with a written decision. The Animal Services Manager’s decision shall be effective on the date the written decision is postmarked.
(d) Re-application for unaltered dog license:
(1) When an unaltered dog license is denied, the applicant may reapply for license upon a showing that the requirements of Section 5.05.020 have been met.
(2) When an unaltered dog license is revoked, the owner or custodian of the dog may apply for a new license no sooner than 30 days following the date of the revocation upon a showing that the requirements of Section 5.05.020 have been met and that the owner has taken appropriate measures to address and remedy the factors that supported the revocation.
(e) Fees. Return and reapplication.
(1) If an unaltered dog license is denied, one half of the fee shall be returned to the applicant. The applicant shall pay the full fee upon reapplication.
(2) No part of an unaltered dog license fee is refundable when a license is revoked and the applicant shall pay the full fee upon reapplication.

5.05.040 Appeal of denial or revocation of unaltered dog license.
(a) Request for hearing.
(1) The owner or custodian may request a hearing to appeal any denial or revocation of unaltered dog license. The request must be made in writing within 14 days after the notice of intent to deny or revoke is postmarked. Failure to submit a timely written hearing request shall be deemed a waiver of the right to appeal the license denial or revocation.
(2) Hearing officer. The hearing shall be conducted by the City Manager or his/her designee.
(3) Notice and conduct of hearing. The City shall mail a written notice of the date, time, and place for the hearing not less than ten days before the hearing date. The hearing date shall be no more than thirty days after the City’s receipt of the request for a hearing. Failure of the owner or custodian or his or her agent to appear at the hearing will result in forfeiture of the right to a hearing. The hearing will be informal and the rules of evidence will not be strictly observed. The City shall mail a written decision to the owner or custodian within ten days after the hearing. The decision of the hearing officer shall be the final administrative decision.
(b) Change in location of dog. If the dog is moved after the City has issued a letter of intent to deny or revoke, but has not yet denied or revoked the license, the owner or custodian must provide the City with information as to the dog’s whereabouts, including the current owner or custodian’s name, address, and telephone number.

5.05.050 Unaltered cat requirements.
An owner or custodian of an unaltered cat over the age of six months must have the animal spayed or neutered, or provide a certificate of sterility, or show that the cat is a competition cat as defined in Section 5.02.010 or a cat which is unable to be spayed or neutered as set forth in Section 5.05.010.

5.05.070 Impoundment of unaltered dog or cat.
(a) When an unaltered dog or cat is impounded, pursuant to state or local law, in addition to satisfying applicable requirements for the release of the animal, including but not limited to, payment of any administrative citation and impound fees, which shall include daily board costs, vaccination/medication, and any other diagnostic or therapeutic applications as provided in Chapter 5.08, the animal shall not be released until such time as:
(1) The owner or custodian has provided a certificate of sterility; or
(2) The animal is spayed or neutered by a veterinarian chosen by the City at the expense of the owner or custodian. Such expense shall include additional fees due to extraordinary care required; or
(3) The owner or custodian may arrange for another City approved veterinarian to spay or neuter the animal, and shall pay to the City the cost to deliver said animal to the chosen veterinarian. The cost to deliver the animal shall be based on the City’s actual costs. The veterinarian shall complete and return to the City within ten days, a statement confirming that the animal 1) has been spayed or neutered, or 2) is incapable of breeding, or 3) the animal’s health would be endangered by the spay/neuter process. After said statement has been issued, the veterinarian may release the animal to the owner or custodian.
(b) If a dog or cat is impounded through no fault of its owner or custodian and no other citation is issued, the Animal Services Manager may waive the mandatory sterilization/neuter requirement.

Los Angeles City

  • No unaltered cats over the age of four months are allowed to be in a public place unsupervised.
  • All dogs and cats must be spayed or neutered after the age of four months. Exemptions are provided for animals used in show and performance competitions, service animals, animals whose health would be endangered by the procedure, and animals with breeding permits.
  • Unaltered dogs and cats must be microchipped.
  • There is a penalty of $100 or 8 hours of community service for non-compliance, with increasing penalties for continued non-compliance.

Los Angeles County (see above for Los Angeles City) – This law covers the unincorporated areas of the county.

  • Dogs over four months old must be microchipped.
  • Dogs over four months old must be spayed or neutered. Exemptions are provided for dogs used in show and performance competitions, service animals, or dogs whose health would be endangered by the procedure.
  • Reasons for which an unaltered dog license could be revoked include allowing a female dog to have more than one litter per year, or more than four litters in her lifetime.
  • There is a penalty of not more than $250 for non-compliance, with increasing penalties (including possible imprisonment) for continued non-compliance.
  • Dogs who are impounded and who do not have an unaltered license must be spayed or neutered before being reclaimed.
  • No shelter, animal control agency, or rescue society shall release cats who have not been spayed or neutered.
  • The license fee for spayed or neutered cats will be half (or less) than the license fee for unaltered cats.
  • If an unaltered cat is impounded, there is a penalty of $35, with increasing fines for subsequent occurrences.

10.20.185 Microchipping of dogs required.

All dogs over the age of four months must be implanted with an identifying microchip. The owner or custodian is required to provide the microchip number to the department, and shall notify the department and the national registry applicable to the implanted chip, of a change of ownership of the dog, or a change of address or telephone number. (Ord. 2006-0029 § 4, 2006.)

10.20.350 Mandatory spaying, neutering of dogs. [Editor's note: For statutory provisions on the regulation of cats, see below for California State Food and Agriculture Code § 31750 et seq.]

A. No person may own, keep, or harbor a dog over the age of four months in violation of this section. An owner or custodian of an unaltered dog must have the dog spayed or neutered or obtain an unaltered dog license in accordance with Section 10.20.355.

B. The owner or custodian of a dog which is unable to be spayed or neutered without a high likelihood of suffering serious bodily harm or death due to age or infirmity, must obtain written confirmation of that fact from a licensed veterinarian. The writing must also state the date by which the dog may be safely spayed or neutered. If the dog is unable to be spayed or neutered within 30 days, the owner or custodian must apply for an unaltered dog license. (Ord. 2006-0029 § 5 (part), 2006.)

10.20.355 Unaltered dog license–Requirements.

An owner or custodian of an unaltered dog over the age of four months must obtain an annual unaltered dog license for the dog. The license shall be issued if the department has determined that all of the following conditions are met:

A. The dog is one of the following: a competition dog as defined in Section 10.08.095; a dog used by a law enforcement agency for law enforcement purposes; a qualified service or assistance dog as defined in Section 10.20.090; or a dog which is unable to be spayed or neutered as set forth in Section 10.20.350 B;

B. The owner or custodian has submitted the required application and has paid the fee set forth in Section 10.90.010(VI)(A); and

C. The unaltered dog will be maintained in accordance with the provisions of Los Angeles County Code Section 10.40.010, and with applicable state animal care and control laws. (Ord. 2006-0029 § 5 (part), 2006.)

10.20.360 Denial or revocation of unaltered dog license–Grounds and re-application.

A. The department may deny or revoke an unaltered dog license for one or more of the following reasons:

  1. The applicant or licensee is not in compliance with all of the requirements of Section 10.20.355;
  2. The department has received at least one complaint, verified by the complainant under penalty of perjury, that the applicant or licensee has allowed a dog to run loose or escape, or has otherwise been found to be neglectful of his or her dog or other animals;
  3. The applicant or licensee has been previously cited for violating a state law, county code or other municipal provision relating to the care and control of animals;
  4. The unaltered dog has been adjudicated by a court or an agency of appropriate jurisdiction to be a potentially dangerous or vicious dog, or to be a nuisance within the meaning of the Los Angeles County Code or under state law;
  5. Any unaltered dog license held by the applicant has been revoked;
  6. A female unaltered dog has had more than one litter per year, or five or more litters in her lifetime; or
  7. The license application is discovered to contain a material misrepresentation of fact.

B. Re-application for unaltered dog license:

  1. When an unaltered dog license is denied, the applicant may re-apply for a license upon a showing that the requirements of Section 10.20.355 have been met. The department shall refund one-half of the license fee when an application is denied. The applicant shall pay the full fee upon re-application.
  2. When an unaltered dog license is revoked, the owner or custodian of the dog may apply for a new license after a thirty-day waiting period upon a showing that the requirements of Section 10.20.355 have been met. No part of an unaltered dog license fee is refundable when a license is revoked and the applicant shall pay the full fee upon re-application. (Ord. 2006-0029 § 5 (part), 2006.)

10.20.370 Transfer, sale and breeding of unaltered dog.

A. Offer for sale or transfer of unaltered dog: An owner or custodian who offers any unaltered dog for sale, trade, or adoption must include a valid unaltered dog license number with the offer of sale, trade or adoption, or otherwise state and establish compliance with Section 10.20.350. The license and microchip numbers must appear on a document transferring the dog to the new owner.

B. Transfer of unaltered dog: The owner or custodian of an unaltered dog over the age of four months, which is not a competition dog as defined in Section 10.08.095, must demonstrate compliance with Section 10.20.350 and 10.20.185 prior to the transfer, and must notify the department of the name and address of the transferee within ten days after the transfer.

C. Notification of litter and sale or transfer of puppies: Within thirty days after a litter is born to a female dog, the owner or custodian of the female dog shall advise the department in writing of the number of live born puppies. When a puppy under the age of four months is sold or otherwise transferred to another person, the owner or custodian shall advise the department of the name and address of the new owner or custodian, and the microchip number of the puppy, if applicable, within ten days after the transfer. (Ord. 2006-0029 § 5 (part), 2006.)

10.20.375 Penalties.

The penalties for violations of any provision of this part are as follows:

A. First violation. A first violation shall be an infraction punishable by a fine not to exceed $250. If the owner or custodian fails to correct the underlying cause of the violation within 30 days after being notified of the violation, it shall be deemed a second violation.

B. Second violation. A violation within a year of a first violation shall be deemed a second violation. A second violation is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed six months or by a fine not to exceed $1,000, or by both such fine and imprisonment. Each subsequent violation within one year shall be considered an additional misdemeanor. (Ord. 2006-0029 § 5 (part), 2006.)

10.20.380 Impoundment of unaltered dog.

A. When an unaltered dog is impounded, the owner or custodian may reclaim the unaltered dog when one of the following occurs:

  1. The dog is spayed or neutered by a department veterinarian at the expense of the owner or custodian. Such expense may include additional fees due to extraordinary care required;
  2. The dog is spayed or neutered by another department approved veterinarian. The owner or custodian may arrange for another department approved veterinarian to spay or neuter the dog, and shall pay to the department the cost to deliver the dog to the chosen veterinarian. The cost to deliver the dog shall be based on the department’s hourly rate established by the Auditor-Controller, billed in minimum one hour increments. The veterinarian shall complete and return to the department within ten days, a statement confirming that the dog has been spayed or neutered and shall release the dog to the owner or custodian only after the spay or neuter procedure is complete; or,
  3. At the discretion of the director, the dog may be released to the owner or custodian if he or she signs a statement under penalty of perjury, representing that the dog will be spayed or neutered and that he or she will submit a statement within ten days, signed by the veterinarian, confirming that the dog has been spayed or neutered.
    4. If the owner or custodian demonstrates compliance with Section 10.20.350.

B. Costs of Impoundment.

  1. The owner or custodian of the unaltered dog shall be responsible for the costs of impoundment, which shall include daily board costs.
  2. The costs of impoundment shall be a lien on the dog, and the unaltered dog shall not be returned to its owner or custodian until the costs are paid. If the owner or custodian of an impounded unaltered dog does not pay the lien against the dog in full within fourteen days, the dog shall be deemed abandoned to the department in accordance with Section 10.36.310. (Ord. 2006-0029 § 5 (part), 2006.)

Regulation of cats, as provided by the California State Food and Agriculture Code

31751.3. (a) (1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (b), no public animal control agency or shelter, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals shelter, humane society shelter, or rescue group shall sell or give away to a new owner any cat that has not been spayed or neutered.
(2) For the purposes of this section, a “rescue group” is a for-profit or not-for-profit entity, or a collaboration of individuals with at least one of its purposes being the sale or placement of cats that have been removed from a public animal control agency or shelter, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals shelter, or humane shelter or that have been previously owned by any person other than the original breeder of that cat.
(b) (1) If a veterinarian licensed to practice veterinary medicine in this state certifies that a cat is too sick or injured to be spayed or neutered, or that it would otherwise be detrimental to the health of the cat to be spayed or neutered, the adopter or purchaser shall pay the public animal control agency or shelter, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals shelter, humane society shelter, or rescue group a deposit of not less than forty dollars ($40), and not more than seventy-five dollars ($75).
(2) The entity shall establish the amount of the deposit at the level it determines is necessary to encourage the spaying or neutering of cats.
(3) The deposit shall be temporary, and shall only be retained until the cat is healthy enough to be spayed or neutered, as certified by a veterinarian licensed to practice veterinary medicine in this state.
(4) The cat shall be spayed or neutered within 14 business days of that certification.
(5) The adopter or purchaser shall obtain written proof of spaying or neutering from the veterinarian performing the operation.
(6) If the adopter or purchaser presents proof of spaying or neutering to the entity from which the cat was obtained within 30business days of obtaining the proof, the adopter or purchaser shall receive a full refund of the deposit.
(c) Public animal control agencies or shelters, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals shelters, humane society shelters, and rescue groups may enter into cooperative agreements with each other and with veterinarians in lieu of requiring spaying and neutering deposits to carry out this section.
(d) Any funds from unclaimed deposits made pursuant to this section, as it read on January 1, 1999, and any funds from deposits unclaimed after January 1, 2000, may be expended only for programs to spay or neuter cats and dogs, including agreements with a society for the prevention of cruelty to animals or a humane society or licensed veterinarian, to operate a program to spay or neuter cats and dogs.
(e) This section only applies to a county that has a population exceeding 100,000 persons as of January 1, 2000, and to cities within that county.

31751.5. Whenever a city or county requires cat license tags, any such tag shall be issued for one-half or less of the fee required foray cat, if a certificate is presented from a licensed veterinarian that the cat has been spayed or neutered.

31751.6. Any licensed cattery may be exempted pursuant to regulation or ordinance from any requirement to obtain a license tag for each cat within the cattery.

31751.7. (a) The owner of a nonspayed or unneutered cat that is impounded once by a city or county animal control agency or shelter, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or humane society, shall be fined thirty-five dollars ($35) on the first occurrence, fifty dollars ($50) on the second occurrence, and one hundred dollars($100) for the third or subsequent occurrence. These fines are for unneutered impounded animals only, and are not in lieu of any fines or impound fees imposed by any individual city, county, public animal control agency or shelter, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals shelter, or humane society shelter.
(b) An animal control officer, humane officer, police officer, peace officer, or any agency authorized to enforce the Penal Code may write citations with a civil penalty stated in an amount corresponding to the violation as provided in subdivision (a). The fines shall be paid to the local municipality or public animal control agency or shelter, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals shelter, or humane society shelter. Any funds collected under this section shall be expended for the purpose of humane education, programs for low cost spaying and neutering of cats, and any additional costs incurred by the animal shelter in the administration of the requirements of this division.
(c) Local ordinances concerning the adoption or placement procedures of any public animal control agency or shelter, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals shelter, humane society shelter, or rescue group shall be at least as restrictive as this division.
(d) This section applies to each county and cities within each county, regardless of population.
(e) No city or county, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or humane society is subject to any civil action by the owner of a cat that is spayed or neutered in accordance with this section.

Pacific Grove

  • All dogs and cats are required to be spayed or neutered unless the guardian obtains an unaltered dog permit.
  • There is a licensing differential of $7.50 for a spayed or neutered animal and $30 for an unaltered animal.
  • Impoundment fees for licensed and spayed or neutered dogs are waived; licensed, unaltered dogs may be waived if the guardian signs an agreement to spay or neuter the dog within 10 days.
  • Guardians who wish to breed their dog or cat may purchase a breeder’s permit, which allows no more than one litter per adult female per year. Guardians who wish to produce more than one litter each year may apply for a commercial breeder’s permit.

Ord. 10.04.100 (1) Licensed and Sterilized Dogs. For a currently licensed dog that has been sterilized, the reclaiming owner shall be granted a waiver from the impoundment fee for the first-time impoundment of the dog. (2) Licensed Dogs, Unsterilized. For a licensed but unsterilized dog, the first-time impoundment fee and unsterilized dog fee may be waived at the request of the reclaiming owner provided that, prior to release of the dog, the “Delivery to Veterinarian” procedure, as defined in subsection (d), is followed.

Ord. 10.04.100 (3) (d) Delivery to Veterinarian Procedure. The owner shall volunteer the animal for sterilization and deposit the requisite fee with a licensed veterinarian. In return, the veterinarian shall provide the owner with a receipt certifying that sterilization of the animal has been paid for and scheduled or that health considerations preclude sterilization. Upon presentation of such receipt and certification to the holding agency, the animal shall be released to the owner. Sterilization under this procedure shall take place no later than ten days after release … In the event of failure to meet the appropriate deadline, the deposit shall be forfeited, and after deducting reasonable costs, the veterinarian shall return the remainder to the city or its designee for educational purposes related to pet sterilization programs.

Ord. 10.18.010 Sterilization of Adopted Animals–Fees. (a) No unsterilized dog or cat shall be released by the city or its designee for adoption unless the adopter first follows the “Delivery to Veterinarian” procedure.

Ord. 10.16.040 Breeding. (1) The requirement for a breeding permit may be waived if, on the first occasion of such birth, the litter is delivered to the S.P.C.A. for humane disposition, the owner has the parent animal sterilized, and proof of such actions is provided to the city or its designated representative. (4) Permits shall apply to no more than one litter per adult female per year regardless of litter size, except as follows: Owners wishing to produce litters at a rate higher than one per year may be issued a commercial breeding permit upon completion of the appropriate application and payment of the fee established by resolution of the council. The commercial breeding permit is not subject to the single litter limitation.

 

Riverside County

  • Dogs, especially pit bulls, and cats must be spayed or neutered, with some exemptions.

Sec. 6.08.120 Mandatory spaying and neutering.

a. 1. Requirement. No person may own, keep, or harbor an unaltered and unspayed dog or cat in violation of this section. An owner or custodian of an unaltered dog must have the dog spayed or neutered, or provide a certificate of sterility, or obtain an unaltered dog license in accordance with this chapter. An owner or custodian of an unaltered cat must have the animal spayed or neutered, or provide a certificate of sterility.

2. Exemptions. This section shall not apply to any of the following:

A. A dog with a high likelihood of suffering serious bodily harm or death if spayed or neutered, due to age or infirmity. The owner or custodian must obtain written confirmation of this fact from a California Licensed Veterinarian. If the dog is able to be safely spayed or neutered at a later date, that date must be stated in the written confirmation; should this date be later than thirty (30) days, the owner or custodian must apply for an unaltered dog license.

B. A cat with a high likelihood of suffering serious bodily harm or death if spayed or neutered, due to age or infirmity. The owner or custodian must obtain written confirmation of this fact from a California Licensed Veterinarian. If the cat is able to be safely spayed or neutered at a later date, that date must be stated in the written confirmation.

C. Animals owned by recognized dog or cat breeders, as defined by department of animal services policy.

b. Denial or revocation of unaltered dog license and reapplication.

1. The department may deny or revoke an unaltered dog license for one or more of the following reasons:

A. The owner, custodian, applicant or licensee is not in compliance with all of the requirements of this section;

B. The department has received at least three complaints, verified by the department, that the owner, custodian, applicant, or licensee has allowed a dog to be stray or run at large or has otherwise been found to be neglectful of his or her or other animals;

C. The owner, custodian, applicant, or licensee has been previously cited for violating a State law, county code or other municipal provision relating to the care and control of animals;

D. The unaltered dog has been adjudicated by a court or an agency of appropriate jurisdiction to be potentially dangerous, dangerous or vicious, or to be nuisance within the meaning of the Riverside County Ordinances or under state law;

E. Any unaltered dog license held by the applicant has been revoked;

F. The license application is discovered to contain a material misrepresentation or omission of fact.

2. Re-application for unaltered dog license:

A. When an unaltered dog license is denied, the applicant may re-apply for a license upon changed circumstances and a showing that the requirements of this chapter have been met. The department shall refund one-half of the license fee when the application is denied. The applicant shall pay the full fee upon re-application.

B. When an unaltered dog license is revoked, the owner or custodian of the dog may apply for a new license after a thirty (30) day waiting period upon showing that the requirements of this chapter have been met. No part of an unaltered dog license fee is refundable when a license is revoked and the applicant shall pay the full fee upon re-application.

c. Appeal of denial or revocation of unaltered dog license.

1. Request for hearing.

A. Notice of intent to deny or revoke. The department shall mail to the owner, custodian, licensee, or applicant a written notice of its intent to deny or revoke the license for an unaltered dog which includes the reason(s) for the denial or revocation. The owner, custodian, licensee or applicant may request a hearing to appeal the denial or revocation. The request must be made in writing within ten (10) days after the notice of intent to deny or revoke is mailed. Failure to submit a timely written hearing request shall be deemed a waiver of the right to appeal the license denial or revocation.

B. Hearing officer. The hearing shall be conducted by the animal services director’s designee.

C. Notice and conduct of hearing. The department shall mail a written notice of the date, time, and place for the hearing not less than ten (10) days before the hearing date. The hearing date shall be no more than thirty (30) days after the department’s receipt of the request for a hearing. The hearing will be informal and the rules of evidence will not be strictly observed. The department shall mail a written decision to the owner or custodian within ten (10) days after the hearing. The decision of the hearing officer shall be the final administrative decision.

2. Change in location of dog. If the dog is moved after the department has issued a letter of intent to deny or revoke, but has not yet denied or revoked the license, the owner, custodian, licensee, or applicant must provide the department with information as to the dog’s whereabouts, including the current owner or custodian’s name, address, and telephone number.

d. Transfer, sale, and breeding of unaltered dog or cat.

1. Offer for sale or transfer of unaltered dog. An owner or custodian who offers any unaltered dog for sale, trade, or adoption must include a valid unaltered dog license number with the offer of sale, trade or adoption, or otherwise state and establish compliance with this section. The unaltered license and microchip numbers must appear on a document transferring the animal to the new owner.

2. Offer for sale or transfer of unaltered cat. An owner or custodian of an unaltered cat must notify the department of the name and address of the transferee within ten (10) days after the transfer. The microchip numbers must appear on a document transferring the animal to the new owner.

e. Penalties. Penalties issued for failure to spay or neuter a dog or cat shall be enforced as set forth below:

1. An administrative citation, infraction, or other such authorized penalty may be issued to an owner or custodian of an unaltered dog or cat for a violation of this section only when the owner or custodian is concurrently cited for another violation under State or local law pertaining to the obligations of a person owning or possessing a dog or cat. Examples of such State law or local ordinance violations include, but are not limited to, the following: failure to possess a current canine rabies vaccination of the subject dog; dog or cat at large; failure to license a dog; leash law violations; kennel or cattery permit violations; tethering violations; unhealthy or unsanitary conditions; failure to provide adequate care for the subject dog or cat in violation of the Penal Code; rabies quarantine violations for the subject dog; operating a business without a license and/or lack of State Tax ID Number; fighting dog activity in violation of Penal Code section 597.5; animals left unattended in motor vehicles; potentially dangerous, dangerous or vicious animals; and noisy animals.

2. Should the owner or custodian of an unaltered dog or cat be found in violation of a State or local law, as stated above, in subsection (1), the owner or custodian shall be required to spay or neuter the unaltered animal in accordance with this section.

f. Impoundment of unaltered dog or cat.

1. When an unaltered dog or cat is impounded pursuant to state and/or local law, in addition to satisfying applicable requirements for the release of the animal, including but not limited to payment of impound fees pursuant to this chapter, the owner or custodian shall also do one of the following:

A. Provide written proof of the dog or cat’s prior sterilization, if conditions cannot or do not make this assessment obvious to department personnel;

B. Have the dog or cat spayed or neutered by a department veterinarian at the expense of the owner or custodian. Such expense may include additional fees due to extraordinary care required;

C. Have the dog or cat spayed or neutered by another California licensed veterinarian. The owner or custodian may arrange for another California licensed veterinarian to spay or neuter the animal, and shall pay to the department the cost to deliver said animal to the chosen veterinarian. The cost to deliver the animal shall be based on the department’s hourly rate established by the auditor-controller. The veterinarian shall complete and return to the department within ten (10) days, a statement confirming that the dog or cat has been spayed or neutered or is, in fact, incapable of breeding and shall release the dog or cat to the owner or custodian only after the spay or neuter procedure is complete;

D. At the discretion of the director, the dog or cat may be released to the owner or custodian if he or she signs a statement under penalty of perjury, representing that the dog or cat will be spayed or neutered and that he or she will submit a statement within ten (10) days of the release, signed by the veterinarian, confirming that the dog or cat has been spayed or neutered or is incapable of breeding; or

E. If the owner or custodian demonstrates compliance with this section.

2. Costs of impoundment.

A. The owner or custodian of the unaltered dog or cat shall be responsible for the costs of impoundment, which shall include daily board costs, vaccination/medication, and any other diagnostic or therapeutic applications as provided in this chapter.

B. The costs of impoundment shall be a lien on the dog or cat, and the unaltered animal shall not be returned to its owner or custodian until the costs are paid. If the owner or custodian of an impounded unaltered animal does not pay the lien against it in full within fourteen (14) days, the animal shall be deemed abandoned to the department in accordance with this chapter.

g. Application of fees and fines collected. All costs and fines collected under this part and the fees collected under this section, subsection (f) shall be paid to the department for the purpose of defraying the cost of the implementation and enforcement of this program.

(Ord. 630.13, § 22, 7-14-2009; Ord. 630.12, § 7, 1-27-2009)

Editor’s note—

Ord. No. 630.13, § 21, adopted July 14, 2009, repealed § 6.08.120, which pertained to spay/neuter deposits for dogs and cats and derived from Ord. 630.11, §§ 3 (part), 7, 7008; Ord. 630.7, § 12, 1999. Subsequently, § 22 of same ordinance renumbered §§ 6.08.130—6.08.270 as §§ 6.08.120—6.08.260.

 

6.08.125 Requiring the mandatory spaying and neutering of pit bull breeds.

A. Findings.

1. In recent years, pit bulls comprise a disproportionately high number of unwanted dogs in the county, accounting for twenty (20) percent of shelter dogs and thirty (30) percent of dogs euthanized in the county.

2. While the majority of pit bull owners are responsible and take appropriate measures to ensure that their dogs do not have unwanted offspring, there is a need to mitigate the large number of unwanted pit bulls in the county.

3. Restricting the maintenance of and breeding of intact pit bulls and requiring the spaying and neutering of pit bulls will not prevent responsible pet owners and pet breeders from owning, breeding, or showing pit bull breeds.

B. Purpose. To protect the public’s health and welfare from irresponsible owners of pit bulls by mitigating the over population of unwanted pit bulls.

C. Authority. This section is adopted pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 122331, which authorizes counties to enact mandatory breed specific spay/neutering programs.

D. Exemptions. The following pit bulls are exempt from the regulations described in this section:

1. Currently licensed pit bulls whose owners are registered breeders with the county’s department of animal services.

2. A pit bull that has been appropriately trained and is actually being used by a public law enforcement agency for law enforcement purposes.

3. A pit bull that is an assistance dog as defined in Food and Agricultural Code section 30850.

4. A pit bull which has been certified by a licensed veterinarian as having a health reason for not being spayed/neutered.

5. A pit bull which is in training at a licensed kennel and is currently licensed by the owner in another jurisdiction. The owner of the pit bull has the burden of showing that said pit bull is licensed in another jurisdiction.

6. A dog that is pending a breed determination when the dog owner or custodian requests such a determination in accordance with subsection F. of this section.

E. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms shall have the following meanings:

“County.” County of Riverside.

“Department.” County of Riverside Department of Animal Control.

“Pit bull.” Any Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Pit Bull Terrier, or American Stafford Terrier breed of dog, or any mixed breed of dog which contains, as an element of its breeding, any of these breeds so as to be identifiable as partially of one or more of these breeds.

F. Determination of breed.

1. Upon written request of any dog owner or custodian, the department’s chief veterinarian or designee will schedule a breed determination appointment to determine whether a dog is a pit bull.

2. The department shall mail the requesting dog owner or custodian written notice of the date, time, and place for the appointment not less than ten (10) days before the appointment date. The appointment date shall be no more than thirty (30) days after the department’s receipt of the request for a breed determination.

3. The department shall mail written results of breed determination to the requesting owner or custodian within ten (10) days after the appointment

4. The above mentioned breed determination results are prima facie evidence of the facts stated therein. On appeal, the dog owner or custodian appealing a breed determination has the burden to show that the dog is not a pit bull.

5. If the dog owner or custodian is cited for violation of this section after the department has determined that the dog is a pit bull, the citation may be appealed as provided in subsection H. of this section.

G. Mandatory spay neutering [sic] of pit bull breed dogs. No person shall own or possess a pit bull over the age of four (4) months that has not been spayed or neutered, except as provided for in subsection D. of this section.

H. Violations and penalties. Any person violating any provision of this section shall be deemed guilty of an infraction or misdemeanor and subject to the same criminal, civil and administrative fines, penalties and costs, including all rights to appeal, as enumerated Riverside County Ordinance (“RCO”) No. 630, including any amendments to RCO No. 630 that may occur from time to time.

(Ord. No. 921, §§ 1—8, 10-8-2013)

Sacramento

  • All dogs and cats over the age of 4 months must be spay/neutered
  • Licensing charges are $15 a year for altered animals and $150 a year for unaltered animals

8.24.030 b. No owner shall possess or harbor within the county any dog or cat over the age of four (4) moths that has not been sterilized, unless such person holds an unaltered license, unaltered license with reduced fee, or is otherwise exempted as set forth in Section 8.08.030 or 8.24.030(m). Upon written certification of a veterinarian that a dog or cat has been surgically sterilized, the amount of license fee shall be one-half or less than the fee established for intact dogs or cats.

San Francisco

  • Dogs classified as pit bulls must be spayed and neutered, with certain exceptions.

SEC. 43.1. MANDATORY SPAYING AND NEUTERING OF PIT BULLS; EXCEPTIONS. No person may own, keep, or harbor any dog within the City and County of San Francisco that the person in possession knew, or should have known, was a pit bull that has not been spayed or neutered unless:
(a) The pit bull is under eight weeks of age;
(b) The pit bull cannot be spayed or neutered without a high likelihood of suffering serious bodily harm or death due to a physical abnormality. A veterinarian must certify such a condition, determine the time frame after which the pit bull can be spayed/neutered. Within 30 days of the operative date of this ordinance, or within 30 days of, taking possession or ownership of an unspayed or unneutered pit bull, the owner, guardian or keeper must submit such documentation to be verified by the Department;
(c) The pit bull has been present in the City and County of San Francisco for less than thirty days;
(d) The owner, guardian or keeper has obtained, or has submitted an application for a breeding permit in accordance with Section 44 et seq. of the San Francisco Health Code;
(e) Determination of breed is under appeal pursuant to Section 43(b) above; or
(f) The pit bull is a show dog. Within 30 days of the operative date of this ordinance, or within 30 days of taking possession or ownership of an unspayed or unneutered pit bull, the owner, guardian or keeper must submit a copy of the organization papers (AKC or UKC) to the Department of Animal Care and Control demonstrating the pedigree information and show dog registration and that the dog conforms with the same breeding permit guidelines set forth in Sections 44.1(a)(3)(A), 44.1(a)(3)(B), 44.1(a)(3)(C) and 44.1(a)(3)(D). (Added by Ord. 268-05, File No. 051607, App. 11/22/2005)

San Mateo

  • Any dog or cat over 6 months of age must be spayed or neutered, unless the guardian holds an unaltered license.
  • If the animal breeds accidentally, the guardian must obtain a breeder’s permit in addition to the unaltered license.
  • Any guardian redeeming an impounded unaltered animal will be required to pay a spay/neuter fee in the amount of $35 in addition to the impound fees imposed. This fee will be refunded if the animal is spayed or neutered within 30 days. Any unaltered animal impounded twice or more within a 3-year period will be altered at the guardian’s expense prior to redemption. At the option of the guardian, required spaying or neutering may be performed by a private veterinarian.
  • There are differential licensing charges: $11 for spayed or neutered dogs and $21 (which includes a $.50 surcharge for the Animal Population Trust Fund) for unaltered dogs. Spayed/neutered cats are $6 and $11 for unaltered cats.
  • Penalties for violation, of spay/neuter ordinances are fines not to exceed $100 on the first offense, $200 on the second offense, and $500 for each additional violation of the same ordinance within one year.

Chap. 8.02.090, Sec. 3332.4 (a) No person shall own or harbor within the City any cat or dog over the age of six months which has not been spayed or neutered, unless such person holds either a license to keep an unaltered dog or cat or a license and permit for breeding cats or dogs.

Chap. 8.02, Sec. 3330.8 Upon redemption of any impounded unaltered animal, the owner will be required to pay a spay/neuter fee in the amount of $35.0 in addition to the impound fees imposed under Section 3330.12. Such fee shall be refundable upon proof of spaying /neutering of the animal within 30 days of the redemption date. Any unaltered animal impounded twice or more within a three-year period shall be altered at the owner’s expense prior to redemption. At the option of the owner, required spaying or neutering may be performed by a private veterinarian.

Santa Cruz County

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for dogs and cats over the age of 6 months unless the caretaker receives written authorization by the director of animal control giving permission to maintain an unaltered dog or cat.
  • Anyone intentionally caring or providing for a dog or cat is declared the “owner” of that animal and must sterilize that animal accordingly.
  • Feral cat colony caretakers are required to trap cats over the age of 8 weeks and have them spayed or neutered.
  • Breeders are permitted to allow their animals to have only one litter in a 12-month period.

6.10.030. A. No person shall own, harbor or keep within the unincorporated area of Santa Cruz County, a dog or cat over the age of six months, which has not been spayed or neutered unless such person holds an unaltered animal certification for the animal issued pursuant to Section 6.10.050.

6.10.030. B. Any person intentionally providing care or sustenance for a dog or cat shall be deemed the owner of such dog or cat and shall comply with this section.

6.10.040 A. It is unlawful for any person within the unincorporated area of the county intentionally to provide food, water or other forms of sustenance to a feral cat colony unless the person furnishes the director of animal control services with a signed statement agreeing to the following conditions:

  1. Register with the director of animal control services as caring for feral cats;
  2. Regularly feed the cat colony, including weekends and holidays;
  3. Regularly and frequently trap the cats over the age of eight weeks and have them spayed or neutered;
  4. Arrange to have all trapped cats tested for feline leukemia and feline immune deficiency virus, and to have those who test positive humanely euthanized or isolated indoors;
  5. Identify all trapped cats by tipping their ears; and
  6. Arrange to have all trapped cats vaccinated for rabies in addition to any other vaccination or immunization requirement imposed by the state.

Ventura County

  • Dogs and cats must be spayed or neutered, with some exemptions.
  • Owners may not allow their animals to have litters without a breeding permit.

4421 Spav/neuter requirements.

4421-1 Intent.

The intent of the spay/neuter provisions of the ordinance is to create a culture and common practice of spaying and neutering dogs and cats. Education and voluntary compliance isthe preferred method of achieving spaying and neutering, with enforcement measures as a last resort.

4421-2 Intent.

The intent of the ordinance is not to require spay/neuter to take place at 4 months, but to take advantage of the ability to provide 60-day notification at 4 months.

4421-3 Prohibition against unaltered dog or cat.

Every person who owns a dog or cat over the age of four months that is kept in the unincorporated areas of the County of Ventura is required to have such dog or cat spayed or neutered unless an exception applies under Section 4421-4. Nothing in this Section shall make veterinarians mandatory reporters of animals that have not been spayed or neutered.

4421-4 Prohibition against unaltered dog or cat; exceptions.

No person shall own a dog or cat over the age of four months that is kept in the unincorporated areas of the County of Ventura that has not been spayed or neutered, unless valid written documentation is provided to show proof that the animal is exempt from the requirement to be spayed or neutered by reason of one of the following:

(a) The dog or cat is a breed approved by and is registered with the American Kennel Club or a similar foreign registry recognized by the Division, as indicated on the Division website, whose program and practices are consistent with the humane treatment of animals, and the dog or cat is actively used to exhibit or compete and has competed in at least one legitimate exhibition or sporting competition hosted by, or under the approval of, the American Kennel Club or a similar foreign registry, within the last two years, or is being trained or groomed to exhibit or compete and is too young to have yet competed.

(b) The dog has earned, or if under three years old, is actively being trained and in the process of earning, an agility, carting, herding, protection, rally, hunting, working, or other title from a registry or association approved by the Division.

(c) The dog is being, or has been, appropriately trained and is actively used in a manner that meets the definition of a guide, signal or service dog as set forth in Penal Code section 365.5, subdivisions (d), (e) and (f), or the dog is enrolled in a guide dog program administered by a person licensed under Business and Professions Code section 7200 et seq.

(d) The dog is being, or has been, appropriately trained and is actively used by law enforcement agencies, the military, or search and rescue organizations, for law enforcement, military, or search and rescue activities.

(e) The owner of the dog or cat provides a letter to the Division from a licensed veterinarian certifying that the animal’s health would be best served by spaying or neutering after a specified date; or that due to age, poor health, or illness of the animal, it is detrimental to the health of the animal to spay or neuter the animal; or that arrangements have been made to spay or neuter the dog or cat within 60 days after the compliance deadline and the dog or cat is spayed or neutered within that 60-day period. This letter shall include the veterinarian’s license number and the date by which the animal may be safely spayed or neutered. The letter shall be updated periodically as necessary in the event the condition of the animal changes.

(f) The owner of the dog or cat is an American Kennel Club “Breeder of Merit.”

(g) The dog or cat has a valid breeding permit issued to the owner by the Division.

4421-5 Compliance.

It shall be the owner’s responsibility to comply with the spay/neuter provisions of this Article, including paying the applicable license fee.

4422 Implant.

A dog that has not been spayed or neutered shall be implanted with an animal identification device, at the owner’s expense, identifying the owner of the animal.

4423 (Reserved).

4424 Notice of violation and penalties re spav/neuter requirements.

Any person owning a cat or dog in violation of Section 4421 shall be given a notice of violation. The notice of violation shall quote pertinent provisions of Section 4421 and provide information regarding low-cost spay/neuter services offered in Ventura County. If the person fails to comply with Section 4421 within 60 days of receipt of the notice of violation, an Animal Control Officer, as defined in Section 4493-2, may issue an administrative citation assessing a civil penalty to that person in accordance with, and the person shall be subject to the administrative enforcement provisions set forth in, Article 8. The daily civil penalties for failure to comply with spay/neuter requirements shall be up to $25 per day, or such other sum approved by resolution of the Board of Supervisors, and the daily civil penalties shall commence 61 days after the owner’s receipt of the notice of violation. Every person who fails to comply with Section 4421 with 60 days receipt of such notice of violation shall also be guilty of an infraction.

4425 Breeding permit.

(a) No person shall cause or allow any dog or cat owned, harbored, or kept within the unincorporated areas of the County to breed without first obtaining a breeding permit, as described below. The term breeding permit means a written authorization, issued annually by the Director, giving the animal’s lawful holder permission to breed a dog or cat.

(b) Each breeder’s permit shall be valid for one year from the date of issuance and may be renewed annually before its expiration date. Each applicant for such a permit shall pay an annual fee of $100.00, or the then established annual fee approved by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Ventura. A separate permit must be obtained for each dog or cat which is allowed to breed. No person is eligible for a breeding permit unless that person can present documentary evidence to the Division from a veterinarian that the parent dogs have received all recommended vaccinations and have had proper veterinary care.

(c) The Division shall administer an animal breeding permit program consistent with the following criteria:

(1) Under no circumstances shall a breeding permit be issued to a person who has been convicted of animal cruelty or neglect.

(2) The owner of the unaltered female dog or cat shall not allow the whelping of more than one litter in any household within the permit year, unless prior written permission has been obtained from the Director for good cause shown (including, but not limited to, where breeding is required to protect the health of the animal or where the permittee was forced to euthanize a litter of dogs or cats through no fault of the permittee).

(3) Issuance of a breeding permit shall be conditioned upon the animal owner’s consent to such inspections, as may be required, by the Division to verify that a breeding permit is not used to whelp more than one litter in any household.

(4) No offspring may be sold, adopted, bartered, or otherwise transferred, whether for compensation or otherwise, until it has reached the age of at least eight weeks, and has been immunized against common diseases according to current veterinary practice in Ventura County; and the sale or adoption of the dog or cat shall include a statement signed by the seller or person providing the offspring for adoption attesting to the signatory’s knowledge of the animal’s health and the animal’s immunization history.

(5) Any holder of a breeding permit in the unincorporated areas of the County who advertises to the public the availability of any dog or cat for sale, adoption, or transfer, whether for compensation or otherwise, must prominently display the permit number in any such advertisement. Further, the breeding permit holder must provide the permit number to any person who purchases, adopts or receives any animal from the permit holder and include the permit number on any receipt of sale or transfer document.

(6) Any holder of a breeding permit in the unincorporated areas of the County who sells or otherwise transfers a dog, whether for compensation or otherwise, shall submit to the Division the name, address, and telephone number of the animal’s new owner within five days from the sale or other transfer, on a form approved by the Division.

(7) Any holder of a breeding permit or commercial establishment in the unincorporated areas of the County which sells or otherwise transfers a dog, whether for compensation or otherwise, shall provide to the new animal owner County of Ventura applications for a license and permit.

(d) The following animals are exempt from breeding permit requirements:

(1) Dogs documented as having been appropriately trained and actively used by law enforcement agencies, the military or search and rescue organizations for law enforcement, military or search and rescue activities.

(2) Dogs documented as guide, signal, or service dogs pursuant to California Penal Code section 365.5, subdivisions (d), (e) and (f).

(3) Dogs and cats certified by a licensed veterinarian as not being suitable subjects for spaying and neutering due to health reasons;

(4) Dogs and cats under the care of governmental animal control agencies; animal rescue organizations which have demonstrated to the Division that they have implemented an ongoing spay/neuter plan, as well as an adoption plan; or humane societies or societies for the prevention of cruelty to animals, if such societies are incorporated under the provisions of the California Corporations Code and the Nonprofit Public Benefit Corporation Law.

(5) Dogs documented as enrolled in a guide dog breeding program administered by a person licensed under Business and Professions Code section 7200 et seq.

(6) Dogs and cats owned by any person who is able to present documentary evidence that the person is an American Kennel Club “Breeder of Merit.”

4426 Notice of violation and penalties re breeding permit requirements.

Any person in violation of the breeding permit provisions of Section 4425, shall be given a notice of violation. The notice of violation shall quote pertinent provisions of Section 4425. The person may correct the violation(s) by providing conclusive proof to the Division that the dog(s) or cat(s) have been spayed or neutered, or by obtaining the necessary permit(s) within 60 days from receipt of the notice of violation. If the person fails to correct the violation(s) within 60 days of receipt of a notice of violation, an Animal Control Officer, as defined in Section 4493-2, may issue an administrative citation assessing a civil penalty to that person in accordance with, and the person shall be subject to the administrative enforcement provisions set forth in, Article 8. The civil penalties for failure to comply with the breeding permit provisions of Section 4425 shall be up to $500 per dog or cat, or such other sum approved by resolution of the Board of Supervisors. Every person who fails to comply with Section 4425 as set forth herein within 60 days of receipt of such notice of violation shall also be guilty of an infraction.

4427 Revocation of breeding permit.

The Division may revoke any breeding permit issued upon finding that the permit holder has violated its terms and conditions. Such a finding shall be made only after a noticed hearing conducted by the Poundmaster, or the Poundmaster’s designee, acting as hearing officer, and in accordance with the provisions of Sections 4467-4 through 4467-7. If the hearing officer finds that a violation has occurred, the hearing officer will issue written findings and an order, revoking the applicable breeding permit(s). The permit holder shall have the right to petition in the Ventura County Superior Court for review of the hearing officer’s decision as set forth in California Code of Civil Procedure sections 1094.5 and 1094.6. Such petition must be filed within ninety (90) days of the date notice of the decision is served upon the permit holder.

 

Colorado

General

  • Animals adopted from animal shelters are required to be spayed or neutered.

C.R.S. 35-80-106.4 (2012) 35-80-106.4. Sterilization of ownerless dogs and cats required – rules – exceptions – violations
(1) An animal shelter or pet animal rescue shall not release a dog or cat to a prospective owner unless:
(a) The animal has been sterilized by a licensed veterinarian; or
(b) (I) The prospective owner signs an agreement to have the animal sterilized by a licensed veterinarian within ninety days after the date of release and deposits a fee, in an amount specified by rule of the commissioner, with the animal shelter or pet animal rescue.
(II) Upon receiving a written statement from the licensed veterinarian who performed the sterilization procedure that the dog or cat has been sterilized, the animal shelter or pet animal rescue shall refund the deposit to the prospective owner.
(III) If the prospective owner fails to provide the animal shelter or pet animal rescue with a written statement from a licensed veterinarian stating that the veterinarian performed a sterilization procedure on the dog or cat within ninety days after signing the agreement:
(A) The prospective owner shall forfeit the deposit and the animal shelter or pet animal rescue shall forward the amount of the deposit to the pet overpopulation fund created in section 35-80-116.5 (5) or a local dedicated spay and neuter fund; and
(B) The animal shelter or pet animal rescue may promptly reclaim the animal from the prospective owner.
(2) If a licensed veterinarian declares in writing that a sterilization procedure could jeopardize the life or health of the dog or cat, the procedure may be delayed until such time that a veterinarian determines that the dog or cat is fit to undergo the sterilization procedure. At such time, the prospective owner shall have the animal sterilized. If the determination of unfitness for sterilization has been made prior to release, the animal shelter or pet animal rescue may release the dog or cat to the prospective owner, subject to the provisions of this subsection (2).
(3) This section shall not apply to:
(a) The release of a dog or cat to a person with prior and continuing ownership rights to the dog or cat who is reclaiming the animal from an animal shelter or pet animal rescue;
(b) The transfer of an animal from an animal shelter or pet animal rescue to another animal shelter or pet animal rescue or to a veterinarian;
(c) Animal shelters or pet animal rescues with existing sterilization programs that ensure that every dog or cat is sterilized before being released; or
(d) Public animal shelters eligible for waiver of licensing fees pursuant to rules promulgated by the commissioner.
(4) Nothing in this section shall preclude a town, city, county, or city and county from adopting, maintaining, or enforcing an ordinance that exceeds the minimum requirements adopted by the commissioner in implementing and enforcing this section. Nothing in this section shall preclude a licensed animal shelter, whether public or private, from adopting, maintaining, or following a policy that exceeds the minimum requirements adopted by the commissioner in implementing and enforcing this section.

Aurora

  • Differential licensing allows for a reduced cost for spayed/neutered animals.
  • Permits for unaltered animals may be purchased for $25 (in addition to the annual $7 license fee), and the animals are not allowed to breed.
  • All litters born are is required to have a litter permit and registration number.
  • A breeder’s permit required for professional breeders ($85/year) for anyone selling for giving away animals and is required to be displayed for any animal for sale. The permit must be purchased before producing a litter of puppies or kittens.
  • Cats are prohibited from running at large.

Sec. 14-42 (a) Spay or Neuter Required It shall be unlawful to own, possess or keep in the city any dog or cat over the age of six months that has not been spayed or neutered, except as provided in subsection (b) of this section.

Sec. 14-42 (b) Exceptions. The following are exceptions to the spay or neuter requirements in subsection (a) of this section:

(1) Medical. A licensed veterinarian has determined that an animal is medically unsuited to undergo the surgical procedure. A signed statement from a licensed veterinarian is required and shall state specifically the medical grounds for the exemption.

(2) Temporary medical. When the animal’s medical condition is temporary in nature, the licensed veterinarian shall sign a written statement as to the prognosis of when the surgery may be performed. The date given on that prognosis shall become the expiration date of the temporary medical exemption. After the period of the temporary medical exemption, spay or neuter shall be required unless a licensed veterinarian provides another temporary medical exemption and prognosis of when the surgery may be performed.

(3) Transitory status. An animal which is temporarily in the city. When an animal is temporarily in the city for breeding purposes, the owner of such animal is required to have and present, when requested, a certificate of health signed by a licensed veterinarian.

(4) Intact permit. An owner obtains an annual intact animal permit and is in compliance with the city annual licensing requirements contained in this chapter.

Sec. 14-42 (c) Litter Permit and Registration Number. All litters, or a portion thereof, of puppies or kittens that are to be whelped, queened, sold, traded, bartered, given away, or otherwise transferred within the City of Aurora shall have a litter permit and registration number. (1) The owner or possessor shall obtain a litter permit and registration number within one week of obtaining possession of any litter, or portion thereof, of puppies orkittens. (2) Owners or possessors shall abide by all the litter permit and registration administrative requirements. (3)The litter permit and registration number requirements, of this subsection shall not apply to pet shops.

Sec. 14-42 (d) Penalty. Any owner found guilty of violating this section and not classified within the exceptions shall be subject to both fine and imprisonment as provided by section 1-13 if this Code. Upon the first conviction, the court shall impose a fine of not less that $100.00. A portion of the minimum monetary fines and imprisonment may be suspended by the municipal court only if the owner of any animal in violation presents to the court proof of the spay or neuter of the animal. Upon a second conviction, in addition to any penalty provided by section 113, the owner shall be required to spay or neuter the animal (unless the owner provides a written statement from a licensed veterinarian that the spay or neuter procedure would be harmful or dangerous to the health of the animal). Nothing in this subsection shall be construed as preventing the animal care officer from instituting a proceeding in the municipal court for violation of this section where there has been no impoundment.

Denver

  • Breeding is illegal in Denver County.
  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for all animals over 6 months old unless there is a medical reason for an exemption.
  • Guardians who do not want to spay or neuter their companion animals must pay $43 each year for an “intact permit.” If denied an intact permit, by law the animal must be spayed or neutered. An intact permit is not a breeding permit; breeding is illegal.
  • If guardians fail to comply with the spay/neuter municipal codes, the animal’s license will be revoked and the animal could be impounded.

Ord. No. 999-95, Sec. 8-70. It is the purpose of this section to promote the health, safety and general welfare of the residents of the city by reducing the number of stray dogs and cats. The council finds that each year tens of thousands of dogs and cats are euthanized in the city because they are not wanted. It is the purpose of this section to eliminate the excessive numbers of unwanted animals and thereby stop the needless killing of these animals by restricting the breeding practices of pet owners and breeders through legislation that is both reasonable and enforceable.

Ord. No. 999-95, Sec. 8-71. It shall be unlawful to own, possess or keep in the city any dog or cat over the age of six (6) months that has not been spayed or neutered.

Ord. No. 999-95, Sec. 8-73. Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 1-13, any person cited with violation of this article shall have his or her citation dismissed if there is proof of compliance with the terms of this article within thirty (30) days of the date of the summons or impoundment.

Lake County

  • Differential fines for animals running loose charging allow for $100 for unaltered animals and $25 for spayed/neutered animals.

Delaware

Wilmington

  • A license is required for any person to have a dog over the age of 6 months. The license fee is lower for animals who are spayed or neutered.
  • All pit bulls over the age of 6 months must be spayed or neutered.
  • The breeding of pit bulls is strictly prohibited.

Sec. 3-9. – Licensing of dogs—Required; fees; exemptions; penalty for failure to license dogs.
(a) Generally. No person shall own, keep, or harbor any dog over the age of six months within the city limits unless such dog is licensed. Written application for such license shall be made to the division of revenue or such agents of the Delaware Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals or the Delaware Humane Society as shall be designated by the city, and shall state the name and address of the owner and the name, breed, color, age, and sex of the dog.

(b) Payment of yearly license fee.
(1) The yearly license fee shall be paid at the time of making application, a numbered receipt given to the applicant, and a numbered metallic tag shall be issued to the owner.

(2) There shall be a yearly fee for licensing dogs in the city of $10.00 per spayed or neutered animal or for a fee of $25.00 a three-year license may be obtained for a spayed or neutered animal. The yearly licensing fee for dogs in the city that are not spayed or neutered shall be $15.00 per animal or for a fee of $40.00 a three-year license may be obtained for an animal that is not spayed or neutered. The Delaware Humane Society and the Delaware Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals and any other entity approved by the finance department to issue a license shall be entitled to retain $5.00 for each yearly license and $10.00 for each three-year license fee collected by them as reimbursement for their administrative costs.

(c) Proof of rabies inoculation required. All owners applying for a license must show to the satisfaction of the licensing authority that the animal for which the license is being obtained has been inoculated against rabies within the last two years.

(d) Proof of spay, neuter. Any owner claiming that his dog has been spayed or neutered must show to the satisfaction of the licensing authority that such operation has been performed.

(e) Exemptions from license fees. License fees shall not be required for Seeing Eye dogs, government police dogs or dogs belonging to a nonresident of the city and kept within the boundaries of the city for not longer than 30 days; provided, that all dogs of nonresidents shall at the time of entry into the city be properly vaccinated against rabies, and while being kept within the city, shall meet all other requirements of this chapter. Any owner claiming either of these exemptions has the burden of proving to the satisfaction of the licensing authority that the dog in question is used in one of such capacities.

(f) Penalties. Any owner harboring an unlicensed dog over the age of six months shall be fined $50.00. If the matter is before the count, in addition to this fine, the court shall order the defendant to obtain a license for the animal at the earliest possible time.

(Code 1968, § 22-2; Ord. No. 95-046(sub 1), § 1, 8-31-95; Ord. No. 02-122, § 1 (sub 1), 1-16-03)

Sec. 3-16. – Pit bull terrier dogs.
(a) Only persons 21 years of age or older who have complied with the licensing and registration requirements as set forth in section 3-9 of this chapter by June 16, 2000, shall be allowed to own, keep or harbor a pit bull terrier inside the city limits. Such ownership is subject to the following conditions:

(1) All pit bull terriers in the city must be licensed and registered by June 16, 2000. Newly acquired pit bull terriers or pit bull terriers belonging to people moving into the city must be licensed and registered within 30 days of the event. Documentation showing acquisition of the new dog (bill of sale or adoption contract) and/or relocation to the city, as evidenced by a signed lease or purchase agreement, will be required to register a pit bull terrier after June 16, 2000. Persons who do not license and register their pit bull terrier by June 16, 2000, shall, in addition to complying with the registration requirements, be assessed an additional $50.00 fee. For purposes of registration, the owner shall provide the following:

a. A photograph of the animal showing its size and color;

b. A registration fee in the amount of $30.00, ten dollars of which will go to the Delaware Humane Association if the dog is registered at that location;

c. Proof of owner’s age through valid state issued identification card (e.g., driver’s license) or certified birth certificate;

d. Proof of owner’s address through two documents, one of which must contain a photograph, the other being in the form of a utility bill, mortgage payment or lease;

e. Certification by a licensed veterinarian that the pit bull terrier has been neutered or is incapable of enduring neutering (in the case of a male dog) or the pit bull terrier has been spayed or is incapable of enduring spaying (in the case of a female dog). Under no circumstances shall a pit bull terrier who has not been neutered or spayed be registered, except where the dog meets the criteria of subsection (2) of this section. A provisional registration will be issued valid through the date the dog reaches six months of age if the pit bull terrier is incapable of enduring the procedure because it is too young as certified by a licensed veterinarian and all other registration requirements have been satisfied. The pit bull terrier shall be fully registered subject to undergoing the procedure within the effective period of the provisional registration; veterinarian certification shall be provided no later than ten days after the procedure has been performed while the provisional registration is in effect;
[...]

(7) Breeding of pit bull terriers in the city is strictly prohibited. For violations of this provision, all puppies shall be seized and become the property of the state S.P.C.A. for appropriate disposition. The provisional registration of the animal shall be revoked unless immediate action is taken by the owner to comply with the spay/neuter requirement, and fines shall be levied pursuant to section 3-16(d).

Florida

 

Broward County

  • Dogs and cats may not be allowed to breed unless the owner has a breeder permit.

Sec. 4-6.5. Breeder permits and requirements.

(a) No breeder shall cause or allow the breeding of a dog or cat, or offer a dog or cat for breeding or stud purposes, without first obtaining a breeder permit issued by the Division. The cost of the permit and other related fees shall be established by the Commission by resolution.

(b) A breeder permit is valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of issuance and must be renewed annually. Renewal applications for permits shall be made at least thirty (30) days prior to expiration.

(c) No permit shall be renewed hereunder to any applicant that has outstanding and unsatisfied civil penalties imposed due to violations of this article.

(d) A breeder permit is not transferable, assignable, or refundable.

(e) Breeders shall comply with the following:

(1) Keep records, for the duration of the breeder permit and all permit renewals, of the birth of each litter of puppies or kittens, and make such records available for review by the Division upon request;

(2) For a period of at least three (3) years, keep veterinary records of rabies vaccinations, all other inoculations, and any medical condition(s) of each dog, cat, puppy, or kitten bred to be sold, given away, or otherwise conveyed;

(3) On a yearly basis, provide to the Division the name, address, and telephone number of the new owner of each dog, cat, puppy, or kitten sold, given away, or conveyed that remains within Broward County;

(4) Furnish to each new owner of a dog, cat, puppy, or kitten the breeder permit number, providing proof and assurance that the animal was legally bred, the microchip number of the animal, and a copy of the OCVI Health Certificate;

(5) Not offer a puppy or kitten under the age of eight (8) weeks for sale, trade, other compensation, or gift, with the exception of animals taken to an animal shelter;

(6) Not breed or offer for stud any animal that will result in more than a total of one (1) litter per adult animal per calendar year, provided, however, that stud services may be provided outside of Broward County more than one (1) time per calendar year. Stud services means the act of mating a male dog or cat, either artificially or naturally, with a female dog or cat for compensation, monetary or otherwise, provided to the owner of the male dog or cat;

(7) Recommend to each new owner that any animal sold, transferred, or given away be examined by a licensed veterinarian within one (1) week of the date of transfer and notify the new owner of state and local requirements for rabies vaccinations and County registration;

(8) List the breeder permit number on all advertisements and literature concerning the sale or gift of any dog, cat, puppy, or kitten of the breeder;

(9) Adhere to minimum standards regarding the care and manner of keeping of animals, as provided in Section 4-6 of this article;

(10) Provide a valid, current OCVI Health Certificate for inspection, with all dogs and cats offered for sale, exchange, or other conveyance, at the time they are conveyed;

(11) Provide a medical history of the sire and dam as well as, when possible, a medical family history of the sire and dam;

(12) Present a copy of a valid, current OCVI Health Certificate to any animal care specialist upon demand for review, provided, however, that animal shelters and rescue groups offering animals for adoption are exempt from this requirement; and

(13) Allow an animal care specialist to view each animal that is the subject of a breeder permit and to inspect the premises unannounced and unscheduled where the animal is maintained. Such inspection will be limited to that necessary to ascertain compliance with Section 4-6. If a breeder refuses to allow the animal care specialist to perform such inspection, the Division may apply for a warrant pursuant to applicable provisions of Chapter 933, Florida Statutes.

(f) Obtaining a breeder permit.

(1) A person seeking a breeder permit shall apply to the Division on a form approved by the Division.

(2) The permit application shall include, but not be limited to, the following information:

a. The name, address, and telephone number of the applicant;

b. A statement as to whether the applicant has ever been found to have violated the prohibitions against cruelty to animals in this article, or has been convicted of the offense of cruelty to animals, under State law, or has been the subject of a final judgment entered under Section 828.073, Florida Statutes, or any other Florida statute prohibiting animal neglect or mistreatment;

c. A description (species, breed, sex, age, coloration) of each animal to be bred or used for stud under the permit;

d. A description of the activity for which the permit is requested; and

e. Verifiable proof that all required animals are current on rabies vaccination and registration.

(3) If the applicant withholds or falsifies any information on the application, no permit shall be issued and any permit previously issued to the applicant based on false or withheld information shall be revoked.

(4) No person previously found by a Hearing Officer to be in violation of the cruelty section of this chapter, or convicted of cruelty to animals pursuant to Section 828.073, Florida Statutes, or who has been the subject of a final judgment pursuant to Section 828.073, Florida Statutes, or any other Florida statute prohibiting animal neglect or mistreatment, shall be issued a breeder permit.

(g) Permit procedures.

(1) The permit applicant shall provide a completed application to the Division, supply all information requested by the Division, and pay the applicable permit fee.

(2) Permit applications shall remain open for thirty (30) days from the date of submittal to the Division in order for applicants to make corrections and to meet minimum requirements.

(h) Exemption for veterinarians, animal hospitals. Licensed veterinarians and licensed animal hospitals providing animal reproduction and related veterinary services in the course of their business shall be exempt from this ordinance.

(i) Violations.

(1) Failure by a breeder to obtain a permit prior to using or offering to use an animal for breeding or stud shall constitute a violation.

(2) Reapplication by a breeder for a permit less than thirty (30) days before the expiration of the existing permit shall constitute a violation.

(3) Refusal by a breeder to allow an animal care specialist to inspect an animal or the premises as provided in this article shall constitute a violation.

(4) Counterfeiting a breeder permit or OCVI Health Certificate or maliciously destroying a breeder permit shall constitute a violation.

(j) Permit denial, revocation, and suspension.

(1) The Division may deny, revoke, or suspend any permit if it is determined that:

a. There has been a material misstatement or misrepresentation in the permit application;

b. The applicant or permit holder has been held in violation for at least three (3) violations of this article within the preceding two-year period;

c. The applicant or permit holder has failed to pay a fine or to request a hearing as provided in this article within thirty (30) days after issuance of a violation;

d. The applicant or permit holder has been found by a Hearing Officer to be in violation of the cruelty section of this chapter, or convicted of a violation of law involving cruelty to animals, or has been subject to a final judgment pursuant to Section 828.073, Florida Statutes;

e. An animal under the care and responsibility of an applicant or permit holder has been found to be in need of immediate veterinary care that, if not treated, would result in suffering, pain, or death, and the applicant or permit holder did not address the medical need in a timely manner; or

f. A breeder has exceeded the maximum number of litters permitted per calendar year.

(2) No permit fee shall be refunded for a permit that is revoked or suspended.

(3) If a permit is either denied, revoked, or suspended, the Division shall provide written notification of the denial, revocation, or suspension to the applicant or permit holder by certified mail, return receipt requested; hand delivery by an officer evidenced by an affidavit of delivery; or service in conformance with the provisions of Chapter 48, Florida Statutes, relating to service of process.

(4) Appeal process.

a. Any permit applicant or holder who has been denied a permit or whose permit has been revoked or suspended may appeal this action to a Hearing Officer pursuant to Section 4-12.5, within ten (10) days after the mailing of notice by the Division to the permit applicant or holder of the adverse action. A written notice of appeal and Hearing Officer deposit must be filed with the Division within ten (10) days after the notification of the denial, revocation, or suspension of the permit.

b. Unless otherwise provided herein, the hearing before the Hearing Officer shall be governed by Section 4-12.5, “Hearings.”

c. The denial, revocation or suspension of the permit shall be upheld or reversed by the Hearing Officer.

d. All final decisions to uphold or reverse shall be reviewable in accordance with applicable court rules.

(5) Owner requirements following notice of adverse action or appeal process.

a. If the notice of adverse action of denial or revocation of a breeder permit is not appealed, the permit applicant or holder shall not operate or shall cease to operate as a breeder. If the notice of adverse action of suspension of a breeder permit is not appealed, the permit applicant or holder shall not operate or shall cease to operate as a breeder pending the Division’s determination of compliance.

b. Any person whose permit has been revoked may not reapply for a period of one (1) year after the revocation of the permit. Each reapplication for a permit shall be accompanied by a fee to be established by the Commission by resolution.

(k) Violations of this article are subject to a fine as established by the Commission by resolution. Each violation of this article shall be considered a separate infraction of this article.

(l) All fees and fines associated with this section shall be utilized for spay and neuter programs.

(Ord. No. 2013-34, § 2, 10-8-13)

Deltona

  • Fines for violations of this city’s animal laws are lower for those whose animals have been spayed or neutered than for those whose animals are intact.

Sec. 14-6. – Fine schedule.
(a) Violations of any section of this chapter shall have the following civil penalty:

(1) Violations for an animal which has been spayed/neutered:
First Offense: $50.00
Second Offense: $100.00
Third Offense: $250.00 plus a mandatory court appearance

(2) Violations for an intact (not spayed/neutered) animal:
First Offense: $100.00
Second Offense: $150.00
Third Offense: $300.00 plus a mandatory court appearance

(b) Any person cited under this chapter may have the penalty for violation reduced to the levels listed section 14-7(a)1) by having the intact animal spayed or neutered within 30 days of receipt of the civil violation notice.

(Ord. No. 96-51, § 19, 10-7-1996; Ord. No. 20-02, § 1, 8-19-2002)

Palm Beach County

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for dogs and cats who are 6 months old and older unless the guardian obtains an unaltered dog/cat license permit.
  • Every cat in a feral cat colony must be spayed/neutered.
  • Breeders shall not breed more than two litters or more than 19 dogs, cats, puppies, or nine kittens during a calendar year.

Part 6. Chapter 4, Section 28. (b) Spaying, neutering of dogs and cats.

(1) No person may own, keep, or harbor a dog or cat six (6) months of age or older that has not been spayed or neutered unless such person holds an unaltered license tag for each unaltered dog or cat, unless the dog or cat is otherwise exempt under this Ordinance.

(2) An owner of an unaltered dog or cat will be allowed to maintain the unaltered animal in Palm Beach County if any of the following criteria is met: a. The dog or cat is registered with a national or international club, association, or registry recognized by the Division, and the owner certifies in writing to the Division that the animal is being used, trained, or considered for use in a show(s), sporting competition(s), or other similar competitive event(s) held by one or more national or international clubs, associations, or registries. For a dog or cat that is not spayed or neutered due to current use as a show or competition dog or cat as provided herein, the license tag fee established by the Board for unsterilized dogs or cats shall apply. b. A veterinarian licensed in the State of Florida certifies in writing that a specific dog or cat is medically unfit to undergo the required spay or neuter procedure because of a medical condition, including but not limited to age, that would be substantially aggravated by such procedure or would likely cause the dog or cat’s death. The writing must state the date by which the dog or cat may be safely spayed or neutered. The Division may extend the time for spaying or neutering a dog or cat or may exempt such dog or cat from the spay/neuter requirement based upon the written medical recommendation of a licensed veterinarian. For a dog or cat that is not spayed or neutered due to a health condition as provided herein, the license tag fee established by the Board for sterilized dogs or cats shall apply. As soon as the medical condition that prevents a dog or cat from being spayed or neutered ceases to exist, it shall be the duty of the owner of such dog or cat to promptly comply with this Section. c. The dog is currently used by a law enforcement agency for law enforcement purposes. For a dog that is not spayed or neutered due to current use by a law enforcement agency for law enforcement purposes as provided herein, the license tag fee established by the Board for police dogs shall apply. d. The dog or cat is a qualified guide dog or service animal as defined in Section 2 this Ordinance or is part of a recognized guide/service animal breeding program approved by the Division and is currently being bred or evaluated to produce guide/service animals. For a dog or cat that is not spayed or neutered due to current use as a qualified guide dog or service animal as provided herein, the license tag fee established by the Board for such animals shall apply. e. The owner wishes to keep the dog or cat unsterilized and certifies in writing to the Division that the dog or cat will not be bred or used for stud purposes unless an appropriate breeder permit is first obtained from the Division. For a dog or cat that is not spayed or neutered but will not be used for breeding or stud purposes, the license tag fee established by the Board for unsterilized animals shall apply.

Volusia County

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for dogs and cats over the age of 6 months.
  • Certain animals can be exempted with an unaltered-animal permit.

Sec. 14-58. – Mandatory spay and neuter.
(a) Purpose. The county has determined that the unintended or uncontrolled breeding of dogs and cats within the county leads to many dogs, cats, puppies and kittens being unwanted, becoming strays, suffering privation and death, being impounded and euthanized at great expense to the community, and constituting a public nuisance and public health hazard. It is, therefore, declared that every feasible means of reducing the number of unwanted dogs, cats, puppies, and kittens be encouraged.
(b) Spaying, neutering of dogs and cats.
(1) Requirement. No person may harbor a dog or cat six months of age or older within the unincorporated areas of Volusia County that has not been spayed or neutered unless such person holds an unaltered animal permit for each unaltered dog or cat, unless the dog or cat is otherwise exempt under this section.
(2) Unaltered animal permit.
a. Qualifications. An owner of an unaltered dog or cat shall qualify for an unaltered animal permit if one of the following is satisfied:
1. Shows and competitions. The dog or cat is used to show, to compete or to breed, which is of a breed recognized by and registered with the American Kennel Club (AKC), United Kennel Club (UKC), American Dog Breeders Association (ADBA), Cat Fanciers’ Association (CFA), or other bona fide registry and meets one of the following requirements:
i. The dog or cat has competed in at least one show or sporting competition sanctioned by a bona fide national registry within the last 365 days;
ii. The dog earned conformation, obedience, agility, carting, herding, hunting, protection, rally, sporting, working or other title from a purebred dog registry, referenced above, or other registry or dog sport association; or
iii. The owner of the dog or cat is a member of, and the dog or cat is registered with a bona fide purebred dog breed club or cat fancier’s association, which maintains and enforces a code of ethics for dog or cat breeding that includes restrictions from breeding dogs or cats with genetic defects and life threatening health problems that commonly threaten the breed, or the owner signs a statement under oath attesting that the dog or cat is being trained to comply with subsections i. or ii, above.
2. Medical fitness. A veterinarian licensed in the State of Florida certifies in writing that a dog or cat is medically unfit to undergo the required spay or neuter procedure because of a medical condition, including but not limited to age, would be substantially aggravated by the procedure or would likely result in the death of the dog or cat. The certification must state the date, if any, by which the dog or cat may be spayed or neutered. As soon as the medical condition that prevents a dog or cat from being spayed or neutered ceases to exist, it shall be the duty of the owner to have it spayed or neutered within 30 days.
3. Law enforcement. The dog is currently used by a law enforcement agency for law enforcement purposes or is part of a bona fide law enforcement animal breeding program.
4. Service animals. A dog or cat that is a service animal as defined in section 14-31 or is part of a bona fide service animal breeding program.
5. Breeders. The owner demonstrates to the animal control division proof of a breeding contract for a particular dog or cat, membership in a bona fide national, state or local organization, for the perpetuation of a given breed of dog or cat or proof of a litter produced by breeding of the dog or cat within the last 365 days.
6. Hunting and herding dogs. The dog is currently used as, or trained to be, a hunting or herding dog and the dog is registered with a bona fide national, state or local hunting or herding dog association. Alternatively, the owner of the dog signs a statement under oath attesting that the dog is used, trained, or will be trained to be a hunting or herding dog.
None of the aforementioned qualifications shall be construed to authorize the breeding or harboring of dogs or cats in violation of the Zoning Code of Volusia County, or exempt the owner or his dog or cat from any other provision of this chapter.
b. Deadline. A dog or cat governed by this section shall be spayed or neutered by its owner or, if eligible, the owner shall obtain an unaltered animal permit within 30 days of the dog or cat becoming six months of age or, by September 1, 2008, whichever is later in time, or, in the case of an owner whom acquired a dog or cat after it becoming six months of age, 30 days of acquisition.
c. Microchipping. As a condition to obtaining an unaltered animal permit, an eligible dog or cat must be implanted with an identifying microchip and the owner must provide the microchip number to the animal control division. This requirement shall not apply to hunting or herding dogs.
d. Place of residence. The address of the owner shall be presumed to be the residence of the dog or cat. All changes of address must be reported to the animal control division within 30 calendar days following such change.
e. Change in ownership. A permit holder shall notify the animal control division and the national registry applicable to the implanted microchip in writing of any change in ownership of a dog or cat within 30 calendar days.
f. Term of permit. An unaltered animal permit shall be valid for the life of the dog or cat.
g. Revocation. Upon receipt of information of violation of this section, the animal control division may issue a notice of revocation to a permit holder. The notice of revocation shall provide a summary of the information of the violation and shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, by hand delivery by the sheriff, or animal control officer, or upon posting of the property at the address listed in the permit application. Any request for hearing shall be filed by the permit holder with the animal control division within ten days after the permit holder’s receipt of said notice. The permit holder shall set forth the reasons why the permit holder believes the revocation would be an error. Failure to timely request a hearing shall render the revocation final. All hearings shall be conducted by the hearing officer within 30 days after the receipt of a request for hearing and in accordance with section 14-57. The original of the hearing officer’s written decision shall be filed with the animal control division, and copies shall be mailed to the county attorney and the permit holder.
h. Penalty. Any person who violates any provision of this section is subject to the enforcement procedures of section 14-39 and penalties prescribed in section 14-32. These penalties shall not preclude the issuance of a notice of revocation to a holder of an unaltered animal permit for violations of this section.
(3) Exemptions. A dog or cat that meets the following criteria shall be exempt from this section and not be required to obtain an unaltered animal permit:
a. A dog or cat temporarily harbored within the unincorporated areas of Volusia County for less than 120 days within any calendar year.
b. The dog or cat is being harbored by a lawful humane society/animal shelter under the provisions of the Zoning Code of Volusia County, Florida, whether public or private, whose principal purpose is securing the adoption of dogs or cats or offering sanctuary for dogs or cats and certifies in writing to the animal control division that it does not engage in the breeding of dogs or cats, provided that the requirements of F.S. § 823.15, are satisfied.

Georgia

Gwinnett County

  • It is illegal for an unlicensed person to breed animals if such a license is required by the Georgia Department of Agriculture.

Sec. 10-59. – Backyard breeders.
It is unlawful for any person who does not hold a license from the Georgia Department of Agriculture to breed an animal if they are required by the Georgia Department of Agriculture to be licensed.

Hawaii

Honolulu

  • Outdoor cats over the age of 6 months must be sterilized.

Sec. 7-6.6 Sterilization of cats.
It shall be unlawful for a cat owner to allow a cat over the age of six months to be at large unless the cat has been sterilized by a veterinarian. (Added by Ord. 95-21)

Illinois

Chicago

  • A license is required for any person to have a dog over the age of 4 months. For owners under the age of 65 years, the license fee for animals who are spayed or neutered is one-tenth the cost of the fee for animals who are not sterilized. All owners 65 years and older pay a reduced fee, but those whose animals are spayed or neutered pay one-half the fee of those whose animals who are not sterilized.

7-12-140 License required.
(a) It is the duty of the owner of each dog four months of age or older to obtain from the city a dog license for the privilege of owning such dog, unless such dog shall be temporarily within the possession of a veterinary hospital, pet shop, animal care facility, or humane society. The license fee for each dog license shall be as set forth in Section 7-12-170.

7-12-170 License fees.
(a) A dog license may be issued for either a one-year or three-year period as limited by subsection (e) of this section. The fee shall be paid at the time of the issuance of the license and shall be as follows:

Male or female, not sterilized: One-Year Fee $50.00, Three-Year Fee $150.00
Male or female, sterilized: One-Year Fee $5.00, Three-Year Fee $15.00
except that owners 65 years of age or older shall be charged as follows:
Male or female, not sterilized: One-Year Fee $5.00, Three-Year Fee $15.00
Male or female, sterilized: One-Year Fee $2.50, Three-Year Fee $7.50

(b) The fee for a replacement license shall be one- half of the original fee, or $20.00, whichever is less.

(c) No fee shall be charged for:
(1) any service dog which is properly trained to guide or otherwise assist a blind person; or
(2) any dog which is the property of any subdivision of local, state or federal government.

(d) Each dog license issued after July 1, 2008 shall expire at the end of the applicable one or three year period or on the expiration date of the certificate of inoculation that is in effect at the time the dog license is issued, whichever is earlier.

(Prior code § 98-8.3; Amend Coun. J. 12-12-01, p. 75777, § 4.3; Amend Coun. J. 7-26-06, p. 81829, § 3; Amend Coun. J. 6-13-07, p. 2873, § 2; Amend Coun. J. 6-13-07, p. 2891, § 2; Amend Coun. J. 7-30-08, p. 34890, § 2; Amend Coun. J. 5-9-12, p. 26724, § 1)

Rock Island

  • It is mandatory to spay or neuter all dogs and cats unless the guardian pays for an “unaltered license” ($30).
  • Differential licensing establishes fees of $6 for spayed/neutered animals and $30 for unaltered animals. Discounts for senior citizens are $15 for unaltered animals and $3 for spayed or neutered animals.
  • Breeders must also pay a license fee of $6 for each dog over 6 months of age in addition to the $50 breeding license.
  • Any dog or cat who is impounded for the second time will be spayed or neutered. The guardian will pay a $50 penalty fee in addition to the reasonable cost of this mandatory sterilization when redeeming the animal from the shelter.

Div. 2, Dogs and Cats. Sec. 7-146. Spaying And Neutering: (a) No person shall own, harbor or keep within the City any cat or dog over the age of six (6) months which has not been spayed or neutered, unless such person holds either a license for breeding cats or dogs issued by the City or possesses an unaltered dog or cat license as stated in this section or a written certificate from a licensed veterinarian that, due to health considerations, the animal should not be spayed or neutered.

Div. 3, Impoundment. Sec. 7-156. (3) Any dog or cat that is impounded a second time within a one-year period shall be altered. The owner shall pay a penalty in the sum of fifty dollars ($50.00) for a second impoundment and in addition thereto the reasonable cost for the mandatory altering of the animal if the altering would not endanger the health of the animal.

Indiana

Bloomington

  • There is a licensing differential charging $4 for spayed or neutered animals and $25 for unaltered animals.
  • Breeding is illegal unless a guardian obtains either a minor or major breeding permit.
  • A minor breeding permit costs $40 and may be obtained by a guardian who intentionally or accidentally causes the breeding of a cat or dog and who offers any litters for sale or trade.
  • A major breeding permit costs $100 each year in addition to a kennel/cattery fee. This is for professional breeders.
  • If guardians spay or neuter an animal within 10 weeks of the birth of a litter, the guardians must purchase a minor breeder permit for $10.
  • Breeders are only permitted to allow their animals to have one litter in a 12-month period.
  • Guardians who allow their animals to breed and do not wish to spay or neuter or relinquish the animals to the Department of Animal Control, must have their animals microchipped and registered within 30 days of receiving a notice.
  • Guardians of animals who have bred are required to furnish animal control with information on the birth of each litter, as well as records of sale, adoption, buyers/adopters (name, address, phone number), and must immunize all animals in each litter.

Ord. 91.055. Major Breeders Permit.(A) A major breeder’s permit shall be obtained by: (1) Any person who intentionally or accidentally causes the breeding of a cat or dog or makes a cat or dog available for breeding purposes; or (2) Any person who offers for sale, sells, trades, receives other compensation or gives away any litters of dogs or cats; excepting a litter of dogs or cats taken to the Department of Animal Control; (B) And such person shall: (1) Not allow the birthing of more than one litter per female dog or cat in a 12-month period; and (2) Furnish the Department of Animal Control with information on the birth of each litter of dogs or cats as may be required by Department of Animal control to register that litter of dogs or cats with Department of Animal Control, and to be assigned a litter number for each litter.

Ord. 91.056. Minor Breeders Permit. (A) A minor breeder’s permit shall be obtained by: (1) Any person who intentionally or accidentally causes the breeding of a cat or dog or makes a cat or dogs available for breeding purposes; (2) Any person who offers for sale, sells, trades, receives other compensation or gives away any litters of dogs or cats; excepting a litter of dogs or cats taken to the Department of Animal Control; (3) Any owner or person having custody of a dog or cat that has delivered a litter or caused the delivery of a litter, who chooses not to relinquish the animal to the Department of Animal Control and also chooses not to have the animal spayed or neutered shall cause the animal to be implanted with a microchip and to register this dog or cat within 30 days of having received notice to accomplish this procedure from the Department of Animal Control. (B) And such person shall: (1) Be allowed to breed only one dog or one cat which results in the birthing of a maximum of one litter in a 12-month period … (8)(C) Any owner or person having custody of a dog or cat which has been neutered within 10 weeks after giving birth to a litter or who turns the adult dog or cat over to the Department of Animal Control within 10 weeks of the birth date of the litter will be required to purchase a minor breeder permit at the rate of $10. (D) Any owner or person having custody of a dog or cat which has delivered a litter, who chooses not to relinquish said animal to the Department of Animal Control and also chooses not to have the animal neutered, will be required to purchase a minor breeder permit at the rate of $40 plus any applicable kennel/cattery permit fee. The permit shall be issued provided all requirements of this chapter are met.

Fort Wayne

  • Dogs and cats must be registered or microchipped, and the registration fee for unaltered animals is 20 times as much as for altered animals.
  • Any person who allows an animal to have a litter must obtain a minor breeder’s permit. If the animal is subsequently spayed or neutered after the litter, the cost is $10. If the person refuses to have the animal altered or to relinquish the animal, the fee is $100.

§ 91.050 PET REGISTRATION REQUIRED; EXCEPTION; TAGS; MICROCHIP IMPLANT.
(A) Any person owning, keeping, harboring or having custody of any dog or cat over the age of five months must obtain a pet registration for such animal; provided, however, that no pet registration shall be required of any animal welfare organization, municipal animal control facility or governmental agency, or guide dog. Animals belonging to those agencies or persons will be issued complimentary registration tags.

(B) A durable tag stamped with registration number and year of issuance will be provided to pet registration holders for each registration granted. Dogs and cats must wear their tags at all times on their collars, except when involved in any organized show, obedience demonstration, training situation or under the care of a licensed veterinarian.

(C) Any person owning an altered dog or cat may, as an alternative to an annual pet registration, obtain a microchip implant for the dog or cat for lifetime pet registration. This special permanent registration would be for the lifetime of the dog or cat for which they are the registered owner. Such residents shall not be required to annually purchase a new pet registration for the lifetime of such registered animals.

(1) Each lifetime registration will receive a durable stainless steel tag with a registration number for each registration granted. Dogs and cats must wear their tags at all times on their collars. Replacement tags are the responsibility of the owner at such time the tag becomes unreadable, owner must come into the shelter for a replacement.

(D) Any person owning any dog or cat which has been implanted with a microchip shall transfer the microchip documentation with the Department of Animal Control and national registry upon sale, trade, barter, gift or transfer of an animal. Any animal received by Fort Wayne Animal Care and Control with an untraceable tag or microchip due to an owners failure to keep contact information current for tracing with Animal Control, a national registry, or the veterinarian will be held three business days prior to disposition.

(E) Lifetime pet registrations are non-transferable

§ 91.052 FEES
In addition to all other fees required by law to be paid, the following fees shall be paid:

(A) Pet Registration.

(1) For the year 2003, and each year hereinafter, which shall commence on January 1 and end December 31:

Annual – Each altered dog or cat
Age 5 months or older $5.00
Annual – Each unaltered dog or cat
Age 5 months or older $100.00
Lifetime registration
Altered dog or cat
Age 5 months or older $30.00
Replacement Tags $5.00

 

(2) Upon a written statement from a licensed veterinarian setting forth that the neutering of the animal shall constitute a threat to the health of that animal, the payment of the permit fee for unaltered animal shall not be required but the animal shall be classified as an altered animal for purposes of permit registration and fees. Registration at the altered tag price under this section will constitute agreement not to breed the animal. Doing so will result in fines. …

(E) Minor Breeder’s Permit.

(1) Any owner or person having custody of a dog or cat which has been neutered within ten weeks after giving birth to a litter or who turns the adult dog or cat over to the Department of Animal Control within ten weeks from the birth date of the litter, will be required to purchase a Minor Breeder Permit at the rate of $10.

(2) Any owner or person having custody of a dog or cat that has delivered a litter, who chooses not to relinquish the animal to the Department of Animal Control and also chooses not to have the animal neutered, will be required to purchase a Minor Breeder Permit at the rate of $100.

Plus any applicable kennel/cattery permit fee.

Hamilton City

  • Spaying and Neutering is mandatory by the time any dog or cat is 9 months old unless the guardian obtains a $50 breeder’s permit.
  • Any guardian intentionally or accidentally breeding an animal is required to purchase the $50 breeders permit.
  • The ordinance also limits the number of litters a breeder can have, sell, trade or give away.

Hamilton County

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for cats and dogs over the age of 6 months.
  • Certain animals can be exempted with a breeder’s permit.

Sec. 15-2.1-1-23. – Sterilization of dogs and cats required; breeder’s permit.
(a) Each dog and cat over the age of six months which is kept in the county shall have been sterilized and rendered incapable of reproducing by a licensed veterinarian, unless a veterinarian has certified in writing that it would not be in the animal’s best medical interest, but in no case later than when that excepted animal attains the age of nine months. It shall be unlawful for a person to own a dog or a cat not in compliance with this section and for which the owner does not have a current and valid intact breeder’s permit. A violation of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100.00.

Noblesville

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for cats and dogs over the age of 6 months.
  • Certain animals can be exempted with a breeder’s permit.

§ 90.18 ANIMALS IN HEAT/STERILIZATION OF DOGS AND CATS.
Every female dog or cat in heat shall be confined in an appropriate, secure building or enclosure so as to prevent conception except during instances of planned breeding. Each dog and cat over the age of six months which is kept in the city shall have been sterilized and rendered incapable of reproducing by a licensed veterinarian unless a veterinarian has certification in writing that it would not be in the animal’s best medical interest. It shall be unlawful for a person to own a dog or cat not in compliance with this section and for which, the owner does not have a current and valid intact breeders permit. A violation of this section shall be punishable by a fine not less than $100. A veterinarian who sterilizes a dog or cat shall complete a certificate in triplicate containing the owner name, address and phone number, date of sterilization, description of the animal, the name of the veterinarian’s facility and the veterinarian’s signature. One copy shall be provided to the owner, one copy to the veterinarian and one copy to the township assessor or trustee or its designee. For the purpose of compliance with this section, each owner of a dog or cat which is kept in the city shall cause the sterilization certificate to be readily available for inspection by an officer authorized to impound animals and to produce the same upon request by that officer.
(Ord. 13-03-91, passed 5-28-91; Am. Ord. 78-12-04, passed 12-28-04) Penalty, see § 90.99

Peru

  • All dogs must be registered with the city, and the registration fee for unaltered animals is eight times as much as for altered animals.

§ 90.50 DOG REGISTRATION.
(A) Any person owning, keeping, harboring or having custody of any dog over the age of five months must obtain a pet registration for such animal; provided, however, that no pet registration shall be required of any animal welfare organization, municipal animal control facility or governmental agency, or guide dog. Animals belonging to those agencies or person will be issued complimentary registration tags.

§ 90.53 FEES.
In addition to all other fees required by law to be paid, the following fees shall be paid:

(A) Pet registration.

(1) For the year 2013, and each year hereinafter, which shall commence on January 1 and end December 31:

Annual – each altered dog
Age 5 months or older $5
Annual – each unaltered dog
Age 5 months or older $40
Replacement tags $5

 

(2) Upon a written statement from a licensed veterinarian setting forth that the neutering of the animal shall constitute a threat to the health of that animal, the payment of the permit fee for the unaltered animal shall not be required but the animal shall be classified as an altered animal for purposes of permit registration and fees. Registration at the altered tag price under this section will constitute agreement not to breed the animal. Doing so will result in fines.

(3) Any seeing or hearing disabled owner of a dog that is used for seeing or hearing purposes shall be exempt from a permit fee.

(4) Senior citizen exemption. Any dog owner 62 years of age or older who owns an altered animal may receive his or her annual registration free of charge; provided, however, that if the animal of any such person has not been spayed or neutered, the person who is 62 or more years of age shall pay the same permit fee and be subject to the above pet registration fees and charges as otherwise required for any animal.

Iowa

Waterloo

  • Owners may not have a cat or dog with a litter of more than two offspring unless the owner has a breeder license or registers the litter with animal control.

 

5-1A-6: PROHIBITED ACTS AND CONDITIONS:

E. Litters: It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a commercial breeder license or permit issued by the State of Iowa or the federal government to keep, shelter, or harbor a female dog or a female cat with its litter that at any time exceeds two (2) offspring, unless the person registers the litter with animal control within five (5) days of birth or acquisition and pays a registration fee of fifty dollars ($50.00). Animal control may seize the entire litter and the mother that are in the possession of any person violating this paragraph, and the person shall be guilty of a municipal infraction.

 

Louisiana

New Orleans

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for dogs over the age of 6 months.
  • Certain animals can be exempted with an intact-dog permit.

Sec. 18-306. – Spaying and neutering requirements. Owner or keepers must spay or neuter all dogs over six months old. Owner or keeper may obtain an intact dog permit if the owner or keeper intends to keep the animal intact. Proof of spay/neuter or of intact dog permit must be provided by the owner or keeper when requested by the society. (M.C.S., Ord. No. 23970, § 1, 5-6-10)

Sec. 18-307. – Exceptions.
No person may own, keep, or harbor any dog within the city that has not been spayed or neutered unless:
(a) The dog is under six months of age;
(b) A licensed veterinarian certifies that the dog should not be spayed or neutered for a specific reason. The certificate must list the veterinarian’s license number and the date by which the dog can be spayed or neutered. Within 30 days of the effective date of this division, or within 30 days of taking possession or ownership of an intact dog, the owner or keeper must submit written documentation which can be verified by the society and the owner or keeper must apply for and obtain an intact dog permit.
(c) The dog has been present in the city for less than 30 days;
(d) The owner or keeper has obtained, or has submitted, an application for an intact dog permit in accordance with the provisions of this chapter;
(e) The dog is used by a government or law enforcement agency or an agent thereof for government, rescue, law enforcement, or other government purposes. (M.C.S., Ord. No. 23970, § 1, 5-6-10)

Sec. 18-308. – Requiring an intact dog permit.
No person shall harbor or keep any intact dog within the city without first obtaining a permit as provided in this chapter.
(M.C.S., Ord. No. 23970, § 1, 5-6-10)

Sec. 18-309. – Granting or denying a permit.
The society maintains the right to grant or deny an intact dog permit. However, an aggrieved owner has the right to appeal a decision of the society to the city council within 30 days of the decision.
(a) [Permit nontransferable.] The society shall issue to the owner or keeper of any dog a nontransferable permit that expires annually on December 31.
(b) [Multiple owners.] If more than one owner or keeper is involved in the breeding process, each party must be listed on the application for an intact dog permit.
(c) [Individual permits.] each dog individually.
(d) Permit requirements. The permit may be applied for from the society if all of the following conditions are met:
(1) The owner or keeper has submitted the appropriate forms and fees required by the society in order to seek consideration for an intact dog permit including, but not limited to, a written description of the dog, proof of current vaccinations, and photograph.
(2) The dog has been microchipped and the registered microchip number is included on the application. The cost of the permit application fee will cover the cost of the microchip and implantation if performed by the society.
(3) The owner can provide proof of current vaccinations for rabies, distemper and parvo virus.
(4) Owners or keepers shall not allow female dogs to breed before 18 months of age or to have more than onetter [sic] per year.
(5) The intact permit number must be displayed when advertising the puppies for sale or adoption.
(6) No animal under sixeks [sic] old may be sold, adopted or given away.
(7) Upon approval of his/her application, the applicant must pay the initial $10.00 permit application fee plus a prorated portion of the $20.00 annual permit fee. Proration will be quarterly based. The annual renewal fee will be $20.00, due and payable by January 1 of each year.
(e) Permit denial. At the society’s discretion, the permit may be denied if one or more of the following occur and have not been corrected and brought into compliance within ten days of notification of noncompliance:
(1) The applicant fails to pay the permit fee within two weeks of notification that the application has been approved. If the owner or keeper does not provide payment, the owner or keeper will be cited in violation of this chapter, and all fines and penalties will be applied.
(2) The applicant has failed to meet all permit requirements listed in subsections (d)(1) through (4).
(3) The applicant has been cited for allowing dogs to roam at large, been found to be guilty of cruelty, has had his/her dog identified as dangerous or vicious; or has been determined within the past 12 months to have violated any provisions of chapter 18.
(M.C.S., Ord. No. 23970, § 1, 5-6-10)

Sec. 18-310. – Delinquency.
(a) When a permit is more than 30 days delinquent, the society shall forward the name, address and vital information of the owner or keeper to the city health department and issue a citation.
(b) Failure to receive notice shall not relieve the animal owner or keeper of the obligations under this article [division].
(M.C.S., Ord. No. 23970, § 1, 5-6-10)

Sec. 18-311. – Fines for failure to comply with permit requirements.
(a) A violation of division 5 of this article shall be an infraction punishable by a fine not to exceed $100.00 per dog for the first violation, a fine not to exceed $250.00 per dog upon a second violation, and impoundment along with a fine not to exceed $500.00 per dog upon the third and subsequent violations.
(b) If, after 15 days of a first citation, the owner or keeper fails to provide proof of a permit or proof of having the dog spayed/neutered, the owner/keeper shall be cited for an additional violation.
(c) If the dog is impounded for a third or subsequent violation, the owner or keeper must pay the surgery deposit to the society or obtain an intact dog permit within ten days of impoundment or the owner or keeper shall relinquish the dog(s) to the society for disposition.
(d) If a permit is not renewed on time, a $10.00 per day late fee will be assessed in addition to the renewal fee. If the permit is not renewed within 15 days of the annual expiration, a first violation shall be issued.
(e) In the event that the society determines that payment of any fees by the owner or keeper of the impounded dog would cause extreme financial difficulty to the owner or keeper, the society may waive all or any portion of the fees assessed for compliance with this section.
(M.C.S., Ord. No. 23970, § 1, 5-6-10)

Sec. 18-312. – Duplicate permits prohibited.
No person shall knowingly reproduce or counterfeit an intact dog permit or issue the permit to a dog other than the dog for whom the permit application was made and the permit number assigned pursuant to this article without the express authorization of the society. Any person who is found to be in possession of a counterfeit intact dog permit will be in violation of this chapter and shall be issued a citation in accordance with section 18-311.

No person shall counterfeit a veterinary certification. Any person who is found to be in possession of a counterfeit veterinary certification shall be in violation of this chapter and shall be issued a citation in accordance with section 18-353.
(M.C.S., Ord. No. 23970, § 1, 5-6-10)

Maryland

Baltimore City

  • Differential licensing charges $10 for a spayed or neutered dog or cat and $30 for an unaltered animal.
  • In April 2002, a law was passed that gives animal control the authority to put a microchip implant into animals the first time they are found roaming the streets.
  • On the second impoundment, the animal is required to be spayed or neutered at the guardian’s expense.

Sec. 10-309 (c) Impoundment; Conditions for Return to Owners. (1) On a first or subsequent impoundment of a dog or cat, the Commissioner may require that, as a condition for the animal’s return to its owner or keeper: (i) a microchip, containing the information the Commissioner specifies, be surgically implanted in the animal; and (ii) the owner or keeper agree to keep the information current, as directed by the Commissioner. (2) On a second or subsequent impoundment, the Commissioner may require that, as a condition of the animal’s return to its owner or keeper, the animal to be altered. (3) The costs incurred in these procedures must be paid by the owner or keeper when reclaiming the animal.

Montgomery County

  • Animal control agencies and shelters have the authority to spay or neuter any dog or cat that is impounded two or more times, at the owner’s expense.
  • The county is mandated to provide the county residents with spay/neuter clinics and offer services at uniform or reduced rate.

Sec. 5-303 (7) (d) Multiple Impoundments. (1) If an unaltered dog or cat is impounded 2 or more times, the owner must have the animal altered at the owner’s expense or surrender the animal to the Director.

Sec. 5-403 (a) The county directly or by contract must establish one or more clinics where county residents may have dogs or cats altered in a humane manner by a licensed veterinarian for a fee set by regulation. The county may contract for altering services by a licensed veterinarian at the veterinarian’s own place of business. The fee may be: (1) uniform or based on ability to pay; and (2) waived or reduced for financial hardship.

Michigan

Ypsilanti

  • Pit bulls must be spayed or neutered, with some exemptions.

Sec. 14-1. [Pit bulls.]

(a) Pit bull means a Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier or any mixed breed dog displaying five out of the following eight distinguishing characteristics:

(1) Head is medium length, with a broad skull and very pronounced cheek muscles, a wide, deep muzzle, a well-defined, moderately deep stop, and strong under jaw. Viewed from the front the head is shaped like a broad, blunt wedge.

(2) Eyes are round to almond shaped, are low in the skull and set far apart.

(3) Ears are set high. Un-cropped ears are short and usually held rose or half prick, though some hold them at full prick.

(4) Neck is heavy and muscular, attached to strong, muscular shoulders.

(5) Body is muscular, with a deep, broad chest, a wide front, deep brisket, well-sprung ribs, and slightly tucked loins.

(6) Tail is medium length and set low, thick at the base, tapering to a point.

(7) Hindquarters are well muscled, with hocks, set low on the legs.

(8) Coat is a singled coat, smooth, short and close to the skin.

(b) No person may own, keep, reside with or harbor a pit bull within the township that is not spayed or not neutered.

(c) Subsection (b) does not apply to:

(1) Pit bull puppies 16 weeks or younger;

(2) Any dog examined by a licensed Humane Society of Huron Valley veterinarian, which is

certified as having less than five of the characteristics set forth in subsection (a);

(3) A pit bull which is registered with the American Kennel Club or United Kennel Club and  participates at least once a year in a dog show sponsored by the American Kennel Club or United Kennel Club. A dog owner who presents proof of AKC or UKC registration and participation on an annual basis in an AKC or UKC dog show is exempt from the neutering and spaying requirements of this section.

(4) A pit bull with a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition whose health will be  seriously, permanently and detrimentally affected if it is spayed or neutered.

(Ord. No. 2010-409, 10-19-10; Ord. No. 2012-427, 1-14-13)

 

Missouri

Columbia

  • All dogs and cats must be licensed, and the licensing fees for unaltered animals are three times as much as for altered animals.

Section 5-63 Licensing of domestic dogs and cats–Required.
No person shall own, keep, harbor or permit to be or remain on or about his premises any dog or cat over three (3) months of age which has not been licensed.

Section 5-65 Same–License fee levied.
(a) There is hereby levied for each domestic cat or dog between the ages of three (3) months and twelve (12) months, and for each neutered domestic cat or dog of any age kept, harbored or owned within the city a license fee of five dollars ($ 5.00 ) for any period of time not to exceed one year; and ten dollars ($ 10.00 ) for any period greater than one year, but not exceeding two (2) years; and fifteen dollars ($ 15.00 ) for any period greater than two (2) years but not exceeding three (3) years. “Neutered” shall include both male and female animals irreversibly rendered incapable of reproduction by surgical or chemical procedure when such is verified in writing by the animal owner.

(b) There is hereby levied for each intact domestic cat or dog over the age of twelve (12) months kept, harbored or owned within the city a license fee of fifteen dollars ($ 15.00 ) for any period of time not to exceed one year; and thirty dollars ($ 30.00 ) for any period greater than one year, but not exceeding two (2) years; and forty-five dollars ($ 45.00 ) for any period greater than two (2) years but not exceeding three (3) years. “Intact” shall include all dogs or cats not certified in writing by the owner to have been irreversibly chemically or surgically rendered incapable of reproduction.

(c) The licensing fees of this section shall not apply to any certified working dog trained to assist handicapped individuals.

(d) The licensing fees of this section shall not apply to any trained dog maintained and utilized by the Columbia Police Department so long as it is maintained and utilized as a police dog.

Kansas City

  • Dogs classified as pit bulls must be spayed and neutered, with certain exceptions.

Sec. 14-60. – Pit bulls. (a) Definition.
(1) Pit bull means any pit bull that is an American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, or any pit bull displaying the physical traits of any one or more of the above breeds, or any pit bull exhibiting those distinguishing characteristics that conform to the standards established by the American Kennel Club (“AKC”) or United Kennel Club (“UKC”) for any of the above breeds.
(2) If an owner, keeper or harborer is unsure as to whether an unspayed and unneutered dog is a pit bull, then the owner, keeper or harborer of the dog may make an appointment with the supervisor of animal health and public safety for the purpose of the supervisor making a determination as to whether or not such dog is a pit bull. If the pit bull owner, keeper or harborer wishes to appeal the determination that the dog is a pit bull, then within five business days of the supervisors determination such owner, keeper or harborer may request a hearing before the director of neighborhood and community services. The hearing shall be held no more than 30 days after the supervisor or animal health and public safety receives the request. The hearing may be informal and the rules of evidence not strictly observed. The decision of the director is final.
(b) Mandatory spaying and neutering of pit bulls; exceptions.
(1) No person may own, keep, or harbor any pit bull that the person in possession knew, or should have known, was a pit bull that has not been spayed or neutered unless:
a. The pit bull is under eight weeks of age;
b. The pit bull cannot be spayed or neutered without a high likelihood of suffering serious bodily harm or death due to a physical abnormality. A veterinarian must certify such a condition and determine the time frame after which the pit bull can be spayed or neutered. Within 30 days of the operative date of this ordinance, or within 30 days of taking possession or ownership of an unspayed or unneutered pit bull, the owner, keeper or harborer must submit such documentation to be verified by the supervisor of animal health and public safety;
c. The pit bull has been present in the city for less than 30 days;
d. The owner, keeper or harborer has obtained, or has submitted an application for a permit for the breeding and transfer of pit bull offspring;
e. The determination of the breed is under appeal pursuant to subsection (a) above; or
f. The pit bull is a show dog. Within thirty days of the effective date of this ordinance, or within thirty days of taking possession or ownership of an unspayed or unneutered pit bull, the owner, keeper, or harborer shall submit a copy of the AKC or UKC organization papers to the supervisor of animal health and public safety demonstrating the pedigree information and the show dog registration of the pit bull and demonstrating that the pit bull conforms to the same breeding permit guidelines set forth in subsection (e) below.
(c) Penalties for failure to spay or neuter. Any person who violates the provisions of this section requiring that a pit bull be spayed or neutered shall be subject to the following:
(1) A first violation shall be an infraction punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.00 and the impoundment of the pit bull by the supervisor of animal health and public safety. In order for the owner, keeper or harborer to reclaim the pit bull from the supervisor of animal health and public safety, in addition to paying the other charges and fees set out in this chapter, one of the following must occur:
a. The supervisor of animal health and public safety shall have a veterinarian spay or neuter the pit bull. The pit bull owner, keeper or harborer shall pay a deposit of $100.00 prior to the procedure and will be charged the fee for such services consisting of the actual expense incurred as established by the supervisor of animal health and public safety.
b. In the alternative, the owner, keeper or harborer shall arrange for another veterinarian within the city to spay or neuter and shall pay the supervisor of animal health and public safety a fee of $60.00, which shall cover the supervisor’s costs of delivering the pit bull to a veterinarian of the owners, keeper’s or harborers choosing. The supervisor of animal health and public safety shall deliver the pit bull to the veterinarian, and the veterinarian shall release the pit bull to the owner, keeper or harborer only after the spaying or neutering is complete.
c. At the discretion of the supervisor of animal health and public safety, the supervisor may release the pit bull to the owner, keeper or harborer provided that the owner, keeper or harborer signs an affidavit swearing or affirming that such owner, keeper or harborer will have the pit bull spayed or neutered within two weeks and will provide documentation verifying that the spaying or neutering occurred upon completion. If the owner, keeper or harborer fails to have his or her pit bull spayed or neutered as agreed in the affidavit, the supervisor of animal health and public safety shall have the authority to impound the dog, and the owner, keeper or harborer may be charged with a second violation of this section.
d. In the event that the supervisor of animal health and public safety determines that payment of any fees by the owner, keeper or harborer of a pit bull which is impounded or otherwise taken into custody would cause extreme financial difficulty to the owner, keeper or harborer, then the supervisor may, at his or her discretion, waive all or part of the fees necessary for compliance with this section.
(2) A second violation of this section by the owner, keeper or harborer, shall be a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for a period not to exceed six months or by a fine not to exceed $1,000.00, or by both such fine and imprisonment. In addition, a second violation shall result in the supervisor of animal health and public safety impounding the pit bull and disposing of the pit bull in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

St. Louis

  • Any impounded stray animal will be spayed or neutered at the guardian’s expense.
  • All stray animals caught or impounded by animal control will be microchipped.
  • Differential licensing charges $50 for unaltered animals and $4 for spayed or neutered animals.
  • Any citizen who fails to comply with this ordinance will be fined.

Sec. 10.04.150 to 10.04.160 Release fees—dogs or cats. No dog or cat should be finally released unless procedures approved by the Health Commissioner to have it spayed or neutered and micro-chipped for identification have been followed.

Sec. 10.04.065 Neuter Assistance and Education Fund. All fees and penalties collected under the provisions of Sections 10.04.150 and 10.04.160, not to exceed Twenty Thousand Dollars ($20,000) each fiscal year, shall be deposited into a special fund to be known as the Neuter Assistance and Education Fund (the Fund). The purpose of the Fund shall be to offer financial assistance to qualified St. Louis City residents for the spaying and neutering of their dogs and cats and to create public awareness regarding efforts to control pet overpopulation in the City of St. Louis. … No dog or cat should be finally released unless procedures approved by the Health Commissioner to have it spayed or neutered have been followed.

New Mexico

McKinley County

  • Differential licensing charges $25 for unaltered dogs and cats and $5 for spayed or neutered animals.
  • With proof of sterilization, the county will refund $20 of the unaltered license fee if provided within 45 days.
  • Breeders are required to pay an additional $35 for a breeder’s permit.

6-2-15: (A) License Fees: 1. The annual license fee for each unneutered or unspayed dog or cat shall be $25.00; $20.00 will be refunded if proof of spaying or neutering is provided to the Center within forty-five (45) days. 2. The annual license fee for each unneutered or unspayed dog or cat which is owned by a person sixty-two (62) years of age or older shall be $25.00 annually; $22.00 will be refunded if spayed or neutered within forty-five (45) days. 3. For each neutered or spayed dog or cat, and for each dog or cat for which neutering or spaying has been certified as a surgical risk, the annual sterilized license fee shall be $5.00. Proof of qualification for sterilized license can only be made with a written certificate from a licensed veterinarian stating that the animal has been neutered or spayed or that neutering or spaying would be a surgical risk for the animal due to the animal’s age or condition. 4. The license fee shall not apply to specially trained dogs owned, harbored or kept for the purpose of assisting the blind or the deaf.

Nevada

Clark County

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for all dogs and cats.
  • Certain animals are exempted, including those kept pursuant to a breeder/show permit and those kept on the premises of a business for sale, breeding, medical treatment or hired care which is in compliance with all applicable permits.

10.08.130 – Permit to keep dogs and cats.:
(a) No person shall keep more than three dogs over four months of age, nor more than three cats over four months of age, at any one place, or on any premises, or in any one residence located within the jurisdiction of the county. Subject to the exceptions provided in this chapter, no person shall harbor any cat or dog unless spayed or neutered. For purposes of this section and chapter, “harbor” means legal ownership, or the providing of regular care or shelter, protection, refuge or nourishment, or medical treatment; provided however that the term shall not include the providing of nourishment to a stray or feral cat or dog. This spay and neuter restriction shall not apply to dogs or cats kept pursuant to a breeder/show permit, or kept on the premises of a business for the sale, breeding, medical treatment or caring for hire of animals which is in compliance with all applicable permits, and other requirements of this code, or dogs and cats kept at an animal shelter or under the care and custody of the animal control officer or a rescue organization.
(b) This provision shall not apply to dogs in use by any federal, state, or local law enforcement agency or guide dogs specifically trained and used to guide a person who is blind or a person with a disability.
(c) The spay/neuter requirement set forth in Section 10.08.130(a) shall not apply if a licensed veterinarian certifies in writing that a specific dog or cat is temporarily or permanently medically unfit to undergo the required spay or neuter procedure because of a physical condition that would be substantially aggravated by such procedure or would likely cause the animal’s death. If temporary, the certificate shall indicate the period of time anticipated that the unsuitability will last. For an exemption to apply beyond that period, a new certificate must be obtained from a veterinarian. The certification may be transmitted electronically.
(d) The spay/neuter requirement set forth in Section 10.08.130(a) shall not apply to animals harbored by a pound, shelter, humane society or similar organization, whether public or private, the principal purpose of which is securing the adoption of dogs or cats provided that such organization requires the spaying or neutering of all dogs and cats prior to placement of such animal for adoption by such organization.
(e) Kittens and puppies born to cats and dogs not spayed or neutered in violation of this chapter shall be forfeited and given to the care of a local shelter for adoption.
(Ord. 3318 § 1, 2005; Ord. 2088 § 22, 1998: Ord. 1107 § 12, 1988: Ord. 1023 § 3 (part), 1987)
(Ord. No. 3771, § 1, 5-20-2009; Ord. No. 3840, § 1, 1-5-2010; Ord. No. 3877, § 3, 6-15-2010)
http://library.municode.com/HTML/16214/level2/TIT10AN_CH10.08DOCALIPE.html#TIT10AN_CH10.08DOCALIPE_10.08.130PEKEDOCA

Las Vegas

  • All dogs and cats over the age of 4 months are required to be spayed or neutered, with certain exceptions.

Chapter 7.14 – HARBORING OF UNSPAYED/UNNEUTERED DOGS AND CATS
7.14.010 – Prohibition.
Except as otherwise provided in Section 7.14.020, it is unlawful for any person to harbor within the City any dog or cat over the age of four months that has not been spayed or neutered. For purposes of this Section, the term “harbor” means to have legal ownership of, or to provide, on a regular basis, care, shelter, protection, refuge, nourishment, or medical treatment.

(Ord. No. 6094, § 1, 5-19-10; Ord. No. 6067, § 1, 11-18-09)

7.14.020 – Exemptions.
Section 7.14.010 does not apply to the harboring of a dog or cat:

(A) That is incapable of breeding, as determined in accordance with Section 7.14.030

(B) That is medically unsuited to undergo a spay or neuter procedure, as determined in accordance with Section 7.14.030

(C) That has received appropriate training (and certification by a recognized agency, if such certification is available), and is being used:
(1) By a law enforcement agency for law enforcement activities;
(2) By a search and rescue agency for search and rescue activities;
(3) As a service animal, such as a guide animal, hearing animal, assistance animal, seizure alert animal, or social/therapy animal;

(D) By a pound, shelter, humane society or similar organization, whether public or private, the principal purpose of which is securing the adoption of dogs or cats, provided that such organization has a policy and rules requiring the spaying or neutering of all dogs and cats placed for adoption by such organization; or

(E) By a person holding a valid dog fancier’s permit, cat fancier’s permit, breeder’s permit, or professional animal handler’s permit issued pursuant to this Title.

(Ord. No. 6067, § 1, 11-18-09)

North Las Vegas

  • All dogs and cats are required to be spayed or neutered, with certain exceptions.

Chapter 6.16 – MANDATORY SPAY/NEUTER OF DOGS AND CATS
6.16.010 – Mandatory spay/neuter of dogs and cats.
Subject to the exceptions provided in this chapter, no person shall harbor with the city of North Las Vegas any unspayed or neutered cat or dog. For purposes of this section and chapter, “harbor” means legal ownership, of the providing of regular care or shelter, protection, refuge or nourishment, or medical treatment; provided however that the term shall not include the providing of nourishment to a stray or feral cat or dog.

(Ord. 2418 § 1 (part), 2007)

6.16.020 – Exceptions to spay/neuter requirements.
A. The spay/neuter requirement set forth in Section 6.16.010 shall not apply if a licensed veterinarian certifies in writing and under oath that a specific dog or cat is medically unfit to undergo the required spay or neuter procedure because of a physical condition that would be substantially aggravated by such procedure or would likely cause the animal’s death.

B. The spay/neuter requirement set forth in Section 6.16.010 shall not apply to animals harbored by a pound, shelter, humane society of similar organization, whether public or private, the principal purpose of which is securing the adoption of dogs or cats provided that such organization has a policy and rules requiring the spaying or neutering of all dogs and cats placed for adoption by such organization.

C. The spay/neuter requirement set forth in Section 6.16.010 shall not apply to any dog or cat harbored by a person holding a valid dog or cat fanciers permit, as provided in Sections 6.08.040 and 6.08.050 of this title.

(Ord. 2418 § 1 (part), 2007)

New Jersey

Camden

  • Dogs and cats over the age of 6 months must be spayed or neutered.
  • Animals with extreme medical conditions are excepted from the ordinance.
  • Guardians of animals kept unaltered for any purpose must meet certain animal-care requirements and must obtain an annual permit from the city for $100.
  • The law does not apply to animals kept in Camden for fewer than 30 days in a one-year period.
    § 210-39. Spaying or neutering required. [Amended 8-5-1999 by Ord. No. MC-3502]

It shall be unlawful to own, possess or keep in the City any dog or cat over the age of six months that has not been spayed or neutered, except as provided in § 210-40 of this article.

§ 210-40. Exceptions; permit to keep unspayed or unneutered pet.

The above prohibition shall not apply in the following situations:

A. Statement of veterinarian. If a licensed veterinarian states, in writing, that an animal is unfit to undergo the required surgical procedure because of an extreme health condition of the animal. Such extreme health conditions shall include, but not be limited to; severe cardiovascular comprise, bleeding disorder, respiratory disease and hepatic disease. The old age of an animal shall not, of itself, constitute an extreme health condition for purposes of this section.

B. If an animal is kept intact for any purpose, the owner of the animal shall be required to annually obtain a permit from the City to possess an animal that is not spayed or neutered. The permit shall be obtained for $100 and shall be issued or renewed only if the City determines that the following conditions have been met: [Amended 8-5-1999 by Ord. No. MC-3502; 3-22-2001 by Ord. No. MC-3643]

(1) The animal is examined regularly by a licensed veterinarian.
(2) The animal is vaccinated annually for rabies and other common diseases.
(3) The animal is housed properly.
(4) The owner has not been in violation of other animal-related ordinance or state laws in the past 24 months.

C. If an animal is temporarily in the City to participate in a show or event sponsored by a nonprofit, sanctioned animal organization.

D. If an animal is owned, possessed or kept in the City for fewer than 30 days in a one-year period. However, the owner must show proof of ownership and residency in a town other than the City with a valid, up-to-date dog or cat (if applicable) license and other.

New York

Meredith

  • All dogs must be licensed with the town, and the licensing fee for unaltered dogs is twice as much as for altered dogs.
  • The state-mandated Animal Population Control Surcharge for licenses for unaltered dogs is three times as much as for altered dogs.

Section 303 – Licensing of Dogs
No person shall own or possess a dog within the Town unless such dog is licensed and identified as provided in Article 7 of the Agriculture and Markets Law and the laws of the Town.

All dogs within the town that are four (4) months of age or older, unless otherwise exempted, shall be licensed.

Section 305 – Licensing Fees
A. Individual Dog License Fee:
$6.00 for a spayed or neutered dog
$12.00 for an unspayed or unneutered dog

B. State mandated Animal Population Control Surcharge:
Each dog license for a spayed or neutered dog shall be subject to an Animal Population Control Surcharge in the amount of $1.00, payable at the time the dog license application is filed.

Each dog license for an unneutered or unspayed dog shall be subject under the same Surcharge at [sic] stated above in the amount of $3.00, payable at the time the dog license is filed.

New York City

  • All shelters and animal control agencies have the authority to spay/neuter all animals that are impounded, whether the animals are adopted or returned to their guardians.
  • All shelters are required to provide sterilization services (exceptions are made for registered show dogs with proof of registry)
  • All animals bought from a pet shop must be spayed or neutered.

Chap. 8, Sec. 17-804. Sterilization Required. A. No full-service shelter or other shelter for homeless animals required to have a permit issued pursuant to subdivision (b) of section 161.09 of the New York city health code shall release a dog or cat to a person claiming ownership thereof, or to a person adopting such dog or cat, unless such dog or cat has been sterilized by a licensed veterinarian; provided, however, that such requirement shall not apply: (1) if a licensed veterinarian certifies to such shelter that he or she has examined such dog or cat and found that because of a medical reason, the life of such dog or cat would be endangered by sterilization; provided, however, that such reason shall not consist solely of the youth of such dog or cat, if such dog or cat is at least eight weeks of age.

Chap. 8, Sec. 17-804 (4) b. No pet shop shall release to a consumer a dog or cat that has not been sterilized by a licensed veterinarian; provided, however, that such requirement shall not apply to a consumer who presents to the pet shop a letter from such consumer’s licensed veterinarian, dated within the immediately preceding ten days, stating the reason(s) why, in the opinion of such veterinarian, such dog or cat should not be sterilized until a later specific date, not to exceed four months following the date of such letter. Such letter shall state that such veterinarian will cause such dog or cat to be sterilized at the request of such consumer on or before such later specified date. Such veterinarian shall also provide to the pet shop a certificate, in such form and manner as determined by rules promulgated by the department, stating the date on which such sterilization was performed. Any consumer who provides a pet shop with a letter with respect to a later sterilization of a dog or cat must ensure that such animal is sterilized by the date indicated in the letter.

North Carolina

Asheville

  • Owners of fertile animals are required to pay a $100 permit fee and calls for a $200 fine if owners don’t have an animal spayed or neutered within 30 days of receiving a citation.
  • It is illegal to have a fertile animal older than 6 months without purchasing a permit.
  • Animal adoption in public places is prohibited unless the group conducting the adoption has a nonprofit status and unless the animals are spayed or neutered.

Sec. 3-5 (b) Spaying and neutering requirements. Any person owning, keeping, harboring, or having custody of any dog or cat 6 months of age or older is required to spay or neuter said animal unless said person holds an unaltered animal permit issued by the license-collecting agent of the City, or any successor agency authorized by law to issue said permit, except:

(1) Persons who own, keep, harbor, or have custody of registered service dogs or working police dogs;
(2) Individuals who are non-residents of the City and reside temporarily therein for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days within a 12-month period;
(3) Animal shelters and veterinary hospitals; and
(4) Persons who own, keep, harbor or have custody of a dog or cat and who are in possession of a certification signed by a licensed veterinarian stating that the animal is unfit to be spayed or neutered because the procedure would endanger the life of the animal.

Sec. 3-5 (c) Obtaining an unaltered permit. Applicants must apply for unaltered permits with the license-collecting agent of the City. The lifetime fee for an unaltered animal permit shall be $100.00.

Changes to the Animal Control Ordinance Prior to May 17, 2005:

City Council will have to decide between adopting a differential licensing or fertile animal permit scheme:

A. Differential licensing fees for fertile and unfertile dogs, Sec. 3-5 Annual Registration for Dogs

  1. Annual registration for spayed/neutered dogs will be less than that for fertile dogs.
  2. Owner must provide proof of sterilization when initially registering a dog.
  3. The Fees and Charges Committee will set the annual fertile and unfertile license fees.

B. The Fertile Animal Permit

  1. The owner of a fertile animal will have to pay the City a one-time $100.00 permit fee to keep a fertile animal within the City.
  2. The City will only enforce this section if the Animal Control Officer is investigating another violation of the ordinance.
  3. If the owner if found to have a fertile animal without a permit, the fine is $200.00
  4. If the owner gets the animal spayed or neutered within 30 days of the issuance of the fine, the City will waive the fine.

Buncombe County

  • Cats and dogs over the age of 6 months must be spayed or neutered.
  • Guardians of unaltered animals are required to hold a $100 unaltered animal permit.
  • Citations will be issued to those guardians of unaltered animals who do not hold a permit if they are also in violation of any other aspect of the county’s ordinances pertaining to animals.
  • Service and police dogs, animals kept in the county for less than 30 days, and those certified by a veterinarian to be unfit for alteration because of medical conditions are exempt from the ordinance.

Ordinance # 03-12-16

Ordinance Amending Chapter 6 “Animals” of the County Code of Ordinances

Dog and Cat Overpopulation

Spaying and neutering requirements; unaltered animals permit required. No person shall own or harbor any dog or cat over the age of six months that has not been spayed or neutered unless such person holds an unaltered animal permit issued for such animal by the department of animal services, or any successor agency authorized by law to issue such a permit, except: (a) persons who own or harbor service dogs or police work dogs; (b) individuals who are non-residents of Buncombe County and reside temporarily therein for a period not to exceed thirty days; (c) animal shelters and veterinary hospitals; and (d) persons who own or harbor a dog or cat and who are in possession of a certification signed by a licensed veterinarian stating that such animal is unfit to be spayed or neutered because such procedure would endanger the life of such animal.

Obtaining an Unaltered Animal Permit

Applicants must apply for permits required by this section with the Director of Animal Services. The fee for an unaltered animal permit shall be one hundred dollars. A tag will be issued identifying the animal as an unaltered animal and must be displayed at all times.

Effective date February 1, 2004. For 60 days after the effective date, warning citations will be issued for unaltered animals without a permit. After April 1, 2004, citations will be issued to owners of unaltered animals not holding a permit. If the animal is altered within 30 days, the citation will be waived. A citation will only be issued under this section if the animal is in violation of another provision of Chapter 6.

Ohio

Athens

Update: Athens City Code 9.01.09 is no longer in effect. It was repealed by Athens City Council in 2006. We offer the code’s content as an example and for informational purposes only.

  • Any dog or cat over the age of six months must be spayed or neutered before being sold or given away.
  • Any dog or cat under the age of six months must have proof of the purchase of spay or neuter services from a licensed veterinarian.
  • Violations are subject to a minor misdemeanor fine of up to $100 with proceeds paid to the County Sick and Injured Animal Fund.

Section 9.01.09. Spaying and Neutering of Dogs and Cats

It shall be unlawful to sell or give away in the City of Athens, Ohio, any dog or cat over the age of six months that has not been spayed or neutered, except as provided in the exceptions contained herein.

It shall be unlawful to sell or give away in the City of Athens, Ohio, any dog or cat under the age of six months without proof of purchase of spay or neuter services from a licensed veterinarian, including a signed statement from the licensed veterinarian that such services will be rendered by the age of six months.

There is hereby excepted from the provisions of this Athens City Code Section the following:

(A) Any dog or cat that a licensed veterinarian has determined is medically unsuited to undergo the sterilization procedure. A signed statement from a licensed veterinarian is required, and the signed statement shall state specifically the medical grounds for the exemption. When the dog or cat’s medical condition precluding spaying or neutering is temporary, the licensed veterinarian shall sign a written statement as to the prognosis of when the surgery may be performed. The dog or cat shall be spayed or neutered immediately upon the expiration of the medical condition unless the veterinarian signs another written statement indicating the dog or cat’s medical condition precludes it.

(B) The breeder of a dog or cat may sell or place their animals intact. The breeder of a dog or cat is defined as a person who owns or leases the dog or cat when the dam or queen was bred. To qualify for this exemption, the breeder must live in the City of Athens, Ohio. Proof of spay or neuter procedures for dogs and cats covered hereunder, shall be the responsibility of the seller, or person giving the dog or cat away. Evidence of spay or neuter procedures shall be available to the Athens City Dog Warden upon request. Any person cited pursuant to this section of the Athens City Code, shall have the citation dismissed, if there is proof of compliance within fourteen days after the date of the citation. Any person found guilty of violating this section of the Athens City Code shall be subject to a minor misdemeanor fine of up to one hundred dollars ($100.00) with proceeds paid to the County Sick and Injured Animal Fund. Each day, after the finding of guilty, that the violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.

Richmond

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory unless guardians pay $100 a year for a breeder’s permit.
  • If the guardians fail to purchase the permit, they will be fined an additional $50.
  • Breeding restrictions limit unsterilized animals to only whelp one litter per animal within the permit year.

Sec. 4-77 (a) No person shall cause or allow any dog or cat owned, harbored or kept within the City of Richmond to breed without first obtaining a breeding permit, as described below. The term “breeding permit” means a written authorization, issued annually by the Department of Public Health, giving its lawful holder permission to breed a dog or a cat. (b) Each breeding permit shall be valid for one year from the date of issuance, and may be renewed annually before its expiration date. Each applicant for such a permit shall pay an annual fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per dog or cat. A separate permit must be obtained for each owned dog or cat which is allowed to breed.

Sec. 4-77 (c) (1) The owner of a female dog or cat that is not sterilized shall not allow the whelping of more than one litter per animal in any household within the permit year.

Oklahoma

 

Lawton

  • Dogs and cats must be spayed or neutered unless the owner has a license for an unaltered animal. Some exceptions apply.

5-1-105 Sterilization Spay/Neuter.

It is the purpose of this section to promote the health, safety and general welfare of the residents of the city by reducing the number of stray dogs and cats. The council finds that each year thousands of dogs and cats are euthanized by the city because they are not wanted. The provisions of this section are designed to eliminate the excessive numbers of unwanted animals and thereby stop the needless killing of these animals by restricting the breeding, advertising and/or transfer practices of local pet owners, pet stores, and breeders through measures that are both reasonable and enforceable.

A. No person shall own or keep any dog or cat over the age of six (6) months that has not been spayed or neutered unless such person holds a “B” license for an intact dog or cat, issued for such animal under Section 5-5-501 of this code.

B. Any person intentionally providing care or sustenance for a dog or cat for 10 days or more shall be deemed the owner of such dog or cat and shall comply with all provisions of this chapter.

C. Notwithstanding the provisions of this code, any person cited for a violation of subsection A of this section shall have his or her citation(s) dismissed, excluding court cost, if they can provide proof of compliance with the spay/neuter terms of this section within fourteen (14) calendar days of the date of the summons or by the date of arraignment.

D. Certain animals are exempted from the spay neuter provision.

1. Dogs documented as having been appropriately trained and actually being used by public law enforcement agencies for law enforcement activities;

2. Dogs documented as having been appropriately trained and actually being used by search and rescue agencies for search and rescue activities;

3. Dogs or cats held at the city animal shelter and veterinary hospitals;

4. Dogs or cats whose owner has registered such animal and hold a current intact animal license, and are in possession of a certification signed by a licensed veterinarian stating that such animal is unfit to be spayed or neutered because such procedure would endanger the life of such animal. Said animals will not be allowed to breed or reproduce.

E. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of subsection A of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500.00) or by imprisonment in the city jail for not more than thirty (30) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment and will be ordered by the court to comply with the spay/neuter requirements of this section or face additional citation(s).

(97-33, Repealed, 07/22/1997)

(Ord. 2007-06, Amended, 03/15/2007)

Tulsa

  • Dogs and cats over 6 months of age must be spayed or neutered unless the guardian holds a hobbyist exemption permit..

Section 101. Offenses.

A. It shall be an offense under the terms of this chapter for any owner within the corporate limits of the City of Tulsa to:

17. Harbor, keep or possess a dog or cat over the age of six (6) months, other than a dog owned and used by the Police Department of the City as a police dog, which has not been spayed or neutered, unless the owner has secured a hobbyist exemption permit as required in this chapter or unless the dog or cat was licensed as required by this chapter prior to January 1, 1998, and has continuously maintained such license. In the event an owner of a dog or cat over the age of six (6) months is unable to produce a current license or license tag for his dog or cat as required by this chapter, a rebuttable presumption is created that the dog or cat has not been spayed or neutered.

Rhode Island

General

  • Guardians are required to spay and neuter all cats over the age of 6 months, unless they pay a hefty price for a breeder’s permit for an intact animal.
  • Violators are fined $75 for every month that they don’t comply; these fees are collected in Rhode Island’s spay and neuter fund.
  • For those who cannot afford to alter their animals, subsidies are included to help low-income families reduce the overpopulation crisis.

4-24-3. Spaying and neutering. (a) No person, as defined by section 4-19-2, shall own or harbor, within the state, any cat over the age of six (6) months which has not been spayed or neutered, unless such person has adopted a cat from a licensed releasing agency as defined by section 4-19-2 and is subject to the spaying and neutering requirements of section 4-19-16 or holds either a license to keep an unaltered cat, or a license and permit for breeding cats issued by the animal control officer for the city or town in which they live, or unless the caretaker states that, due to age, health or illness it would be inappropriate to spay or neuter the cat and having in their possession a letter from a licensed veterinarian stating such, which shall be provided to the animal control officer. (b) An “intact” permit shall be issued for an unaltered cat if the owner signs a written statement that such animal will not be allowed to breed unless the owner has first obtained a breeding permit. An “intact” permit may be issued by the animal control officer to an individual who refuses to spay or neuter their cat. The fee for such a permit shall be one hundred dollars ($100) per year. All funds from “intact” permits shall be deposited in the city or town’s spay/neuter account. (c) Any person providing care or sustenance for an uninterrupted period of sixty (60) days or longer shall be deemed the owner of such animal and shall adhere to the provisions of this chapter. Provided, further, that cities and towns may, by ordinance, require a permit of persons who provide care or sustenance for colony(s) of feral cats.

4-24-13. Low-cost spay/neuter accounts. (a) All revenue generated pursuant to sections 4-24-9 and 4-24-10 shall be deposited in the respective city and towns spay/neuter accounts. Said funds shall be divided equally with fifty percent (50%) of which to be reserved for the exclusive use of funding a low-cost spay/neuter program for the animals of persons who qualify for one of the following public assistance programs or any other public assistance program as determined by the city or towns animal control officer:

(1) Any program which qualifies as public assistance pursuant to chapter 40-6;
(2) The food stamp program authorized by Title XIII of the federal Food and Agriculture Act of 1977, 7 USC 2011 et seq.;
(3) The supplemental security income program authorized by Title XVI of the federal Social Security Act, 42-USC 1381 et seq.;
(4) The federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Act authorized by 42 USC 601 et seq.; or
(5) The Medicaid program authorized by Title IX of the federal Social Security Act, 42 USC 1381.

Persons who are eligible for any of the aforementioned programs must provide proof that he or she is an eligible person to the animal control officer of that city or town to qualify for the low-cost spay/neuter provisions of this section.
(b) All remaining funds shall be deposited in the respective city or towns spay/neuter account to fund the spaying and neutering of animals currently residing in the city or towns pound and to fund low-cost spay/neuter programs.

Warwick

  • Spaying and neutering is mandatory for all cats over the age of 6 months.
  • Certain animals can be exempted with a license to keep an unaltered cat or a license for breeding cats.

Sec. 4-117. – Spaying/neutering.

(a) No person shall own or harbor within the city any cat over the age of six months which has not been spayed or neutered, unless such person holds a license to keep an unaltered cat, or a license for breeding cats issued by the director of the animal shelter of the City of Warwick.
(b) A license to breed and sell shall be issued to an individual for an unaltered cat if the owner pays a fee of $100.00 per cat per year with a signed application. All funds from breeding licenses shall be deposited in the City of Warwick’s Spay/Neuter Account to be managed by the Director of the Warwick Animal Shelter.
(c) Any person providing care or sustenance for a period of 30 days or longer shall be deemed the owner of such cat and shall adhere to the provision of this section.
(d) Subsection (c) above shall not be interpreted to apply to a person caring for a colony of feral cats if such person:
(1) Regularly feeds or arranges for the feeding of the colony, including on weekends and holidays;
(2) Traps or makes a reasonable effort to trap all feral cats over the age of eight weeks in his/her care, and has them spayed or neutered;
(3) Has all trapped cats tested for feline leukemia and has those who test positive humanely euthanized or isolated indoors;
(4) Identifies feral cats that have been spayed or neutered by means of ear notching, ear tipping, or ear tagging; and
(5) Has all trapped cats vaccinated according to state and local laws.
(Ord. No. O-06-1, § II, 1-9-06)

South Carolina

York County

  • Female dogs and cats in heat must be kept confined.

§ 55.19 RESTRAINT REQUIREMENTS.
(D) Every female dog or cat in heat shall be kept confined in a building or secure enclosure or in a veterinary hospital or boarding kennel or shall be treated in a manner so as not to create a nuisance by attracting other dogs or cats.

Texas

Dallas

  • All dogs and cats over the age of 6 months are required to be spayed or neutered, with certain exceptions.

SEC. 7-4.10. RESTRICTIONS ON UNSTERILIZED DOGS AND CATS.
(a) An owner of a dog or cat commits an offense if the animal is not spayed or neutered.

(b) It is a defense to prosecution under Subsection (a) that:

(1) the animal is under six months of age;

(2) a licensed veterinarian certifies that the dog or cat should not be spayed or neutered for health reasons or is permanently non-fertile;

(3) the animal is being held for sale by a retail pet store or for adoption by animal services or an animal welfare organization;

(4) the animal is a competition cat or competition dog;

(5) the animal is a service animal; or

(6) the owner holds a valid intact animal permit issued under Section 7-4.11 of this chapter for the animal. (Ord. 27250, sec. 7-4.10 eff. 10-25-08)

Forth Worth

  • Spaying is mandatory for dogs and cats over 6 months of age, and neutering is mandatory for cats and dogs over 8 months of age.
  • Certain animals can be exempted with an intact-pet permit.

Sec. 6-22.1. – Intact pet permit.
(a) Offenses. (1) A person commits an offense if the person owns, keeps, harbors, or has custody of any female dog or cat over six (6) months of age or of any male dog or cat over eight (8) months of age that is unaltered unless such person has a valid intact pet permit issued in accordance with this section.
(2) A person commits an offense if the person owns, harbors, or has custody of an unaltered dog or cat and fails to display on such dog or cat at all times a valid city combined license/rabies tag indicating that the animal is subject to an unaltered pet permit.
(3) A person commits an offense if the person owns, harbors, or has custody of a dog or cat and displays on such animal a tag indicating that the animal is subject to an unaltered pet permit issued to another person.
(4) A person commits an offense if the person owns, harbors, or has custody of an intact animal at the residence or business property of an individual who has had a permit revoked under subsection (e), regardless of whether another person at the same property holds a valid permit.
(5) A person commits an offense if the person advertises for sale within the City or Fort Worth an unaltered dog or cat and fails to include in such advertisement the identification number of the owner’s city-issued intact pet permit.

Houston

A breeding and selling ordinance, which became effective July 1, requires anyone selling cats or dogs that aren’t spayed or neutered to purchase a $100 annual permit. First-time offenders will get a warning with 30 days to comply. A citation can carry a fine of between $50 and $2,000.

DIVISION 4. BREEDING AND SELLING*

*Editor’s note:  Ord. No. 2007-148, § 11, adopted January 31, 2007, amended Ch. 6, Div. 3 in its entirety to read as herein set out. Formerly, said division was entitled Impoundment generally.

Sec. 6-111. Permit required.

It shall be unlawful for any person to operate as a commercial breeder without a valid breeder’s permit.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-112. Application for permit.

(a) A person who wishes to operate as a commercial breeder may apply to the director for a breeder’s permit. An application for a breeder’s permit shall include:

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the applicant;
(2) The name, address, and telephone number of the location where the breeding will be conducted;
(3) A description of the types of animals to be bred; and
(4) Any other information deemed necessary by the director.

(b) The director shall issue the breeder’s permit if the applicant meets the qualifications to obtain such permit. A breeder’s permit shall be denied if the applicant fails to:

(1) Complete the application for a breeders permit;
(2) Properly restrain the dogs and cats in his care and custody;
(3) Adequately care for and protect the dogs and cats in his care and custody;
(4) Meet all requirements specified on the commercial breeder permit; or
(5) Pay all required fees pertaining to the breeder’s permit.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-113. Grounds for revocation.

A breeder’s permit shall be revoked if the permit holder fails to comply with the provisions set forth in subsection (b) of section 6-112 of this Code.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-114. Fees.

The annual fee for a breeder’s permit shall be $100.00. A permit shall expire one year from the date of issuance and must be renewed prior to its expiration. Failure to timely renew a permit will result in the assessment of a late fee of $25.00 against the permit holder.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-115. Notice of denial or revocation.

If the director denies an application or a request for renewal, or revokes an existing permit, he shall provide notice of the denial or revocation to the applicant or permit holder in writing not later than the 10th business day after the determination to deny an application or renewal or to revoke a permit. The notice of denial or revocation shall be sent to the permit holder or applicant by certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the permit holder or applicant.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-116. Appeal.

A person may appeal the denial or revocation of a permit by delivering a written request for an appeal to the director not more than 10 days after the first date of mailing written notice of denial or revocation.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-117. Hearing.

(a) The director shall cause written notice to be given to the applicant or permit holder that a hearing on his appeal will be conducted. Such notice shall include the following:

(1) The place where the hearing will be conducted; and
(2) The date and time of the hearing, which shall be not later than the tenth day after the date the notice was sent to the applicant or permittee; provided that the hearing officer may continue the hearing upon the written request of the licensee.

(b) All hearings shall be held by a hearing officer appointed by the director of the health and human services department, who shall not designate any person to perform the duties of hearing officer under this section who has prior knowledge of the circumstances regarding the denial or revocation of the permit. The hearing officer, may, prior to the hearing, receive a copy of the notice given to the applicant or permit holder.

(c) An assistant city attorney may be present at the hearing to advise the hearing officer as to procedural matters; however, the attorney shall not participate in any determination of the facts.

(d) All hearings shall be conducted under rules consistent with the informal nature of the proceedings; provided, however, the following rules shall apply to all hearings:

(1) All parties shall have the right to representation by an attorney licensed to practice in Texas though an attorney is not required.
(2) Each party may present witnesses in his own behalf.
(3) Each party has the right to cross examine all witnesses.
(4) Only evidence presented before the hearing officer at the hearing shall be considered in rendering the decision.

(e) The hearing officer may affirm or reverse a permit denial or a permit revocation. The decision of the hearing officer shall be final and shall be delivered in writing to the applicant or permit holder in the same manner as a notice under section 6-115 of this Code.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-118. Roadside and flea market sales.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, trade, barter, lease, rent, give away, or display for a commercial purpose a live animal on a roadside, public right-of-way, commercial parking lot, or at an outdoor special sale, swap meet, flea market, parking lot sale, or similar event.

(b) This section does not apply to:

(1) An agent of a business that has a certificate of occupancy from the building inspection division authorizing the occupancy of the premises for purposes of operating a business selling pets;
(2)   Reserved.
(3)   An event primarily for the sale of agricultural livestock such as hoofed animals or animals or fowl commonly raised for food, dairy, or fiber products; or
(4)   A tax-exempt non-profit organization founded for the purpose of providing humane sanctuary or shelter for abandoned or unwanted animals.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-119. Penalty.

A violation of this division shall constitute a Class C misdemeanor.

(Ord. No. 07-148, § 11, 1-31-07)

Sec. 6-120. Reserved.

Live Oak

  • A license is required for any person to have a dog or cat over the age of 4 months. The license fee is less than half the price or free for certain animals who are spayed or neutered.

Sec. 4-7. – License fees; vaccination certificate prerequisite to issuance of dog and cat license tags.

(a) Every owner of a dog or cat, upon presentation of a vaccination certificate, as provided for in subsection 4-5(a), to the animal control officer or his representative, showing that the dog or cat has been vaccinated with a one-year antirabic vaccine; and upon payment of a fee of $5.00 shall be issued a one-year license and a corresponding numbered license tag. Provided, however, the fee of $2.00 shall be a fee for a one-year license tag, in the case of an animal which has been spayed or neutered. The owner of any dog or cat, which has been spayed or neutered, shall present such proof as animal control may specify, in order to qualify for the $2.00 license. Provided, however, the license shall be free in the case of an animal which has been verified as spayed or neutered and additionally has an active implanted microchip and that microchip is verified by a veterinarian’s receipt identifying the animal or that the microchip was verified by the scanning device maintained by animal control personnel.

(b) Every owner of a dog or cat, upon presentation of a vaccination certificate, as provided for in subsection 4-5(a), to the animal control officer or his representative, showing that the dog or cat has been vaccinated with a three-year antirabic vaccine; and upon payment of a fee of $15.00 dollars shall be issued a three-year license and a corresponding numbered license tag. Provided, however, the fee of $6.00 shall be a fee for a three-year license tag, in the case of an animal which has been spayed or neutered. The owner of any dog or cat, which has been spayed or neutered, shall present such proof as animal control may specify, in order to qualify for the $6.00 license. Provided, however, the license shall be free in the case of an animal which has been verified as spayed or neutered and additionally has an active implanted microchip and that microchip is verified by a veterinarian’s receipt identifying the animal or that the microchip was verified by the scanning device maintained by animal control personnel.

(c) Licenses are valid concurrent with the date of rabies vaccination and expire on the date specified on the rabies vaccination certificate.

(d) The animal license tag issued hereunder shall be in the shape of an acorn a predetermined color for each year as animal control may prescribe.

(e) All dogs and cats four months and older are required to be licensed.

(f) In the event the animal license tag is lost or damaged and unreadable, a duplicate must be obtained from animal control upon presentation of a valid vaccination certificate and the payment of $2.00.

(g) Dogs and cats must wear collars with the city license tag attached thereto at all times.

(Ord. No. 1302, § 7, 3-13-07)

San Antonio

  • Any person whose female dog or cat has a litter must obtain a litter permit.
  • Any person who sells or offers for sale one or more puppies must obtain a seller’s permit.

Sec. 5-107. – Litter permit.
Any person whose female dog or cat has a litter must obtain a litter permit prior to or within ten (10) business days of the litter’s birth.

(1) The issuance of a permit authorizes the whelping of no more than one (1) litter per female dog or cat in any 12-month period.

(2) If a person fails to obtain a permit after notice, then the department shall be authorized to impound the female dog or cat and the animal litter.

(3) The litter permit number shall be prominently displayed in all advertisements, notices, or displays of the litter for sale or trade or offers to give away any members of the litter.

(4) No person may offer any puppy or kitten under the age of eight (8) weeks for sale, trade or other compensation or for free giveaway (except a puppy or kitten, or litter or litters taken to the department, or any tax-exempt nonprofit organization founded for the purpose of providing humane sanctuary or shelter for abandoned or unwanted animals, or any recognized rescue organization which is currently registered with the department).

(5) This section does not apply to caretakers of feral cat colonies and rescuers affiliated with recognized rescue organizations registered with the department.

(Ord. No. 2010-06-17-0555, § 1, 6-17-10)

Sec. 5-108. – Seller’s permit.
Any person who sells or offers for sale one (1) or more puppies must obtain a seller’s permit.

(1) Each seller’s permit shall be valid for one (1) year. Each permit applicant shall be required to take an educational course as part of the permit application process.

(2) The seller’s permit number shall be prominently displayed in all advertisements, notices, or displays for sale of the puppies.

(3) A seller’s permit holder shall provide a purchaser a written statement which shall include a guarantee of good health for a period of not less than two (2) weeks with a recommendation to have the animal examined by a licensed veterinarian.

(4) A person who obtains a litter permit or pet shop license shall not be required to obtain a seller’s permit under this section.

(5) If a person fails to obtain a permit after notice, then the department shall be authorized to impound the puppies.

(Ord. No. 2010-06-17-0555, § 1, 6-17-10)

Waco

  • Dogs and cats must be spayed or neutered, with some exemptions.

Sec. 5-210. Required; exceptions.

(a) All dogs or cats in the corporate city limits shall be spayed/neutered. The owner of such animals must retain documentation of the spay/neuter of their animals.

(b) All dogs or cats impounded within the corporate city limits will be spayed/neutered prior to being released to the owner. The cost to spay/neuter the animal shall be paid by the owner along with the impound fees.

(c) The following animals will not be spay/neutered as directed under subsection (a):

(1) The animal is under four months of age;

(2) A licensed veterinarian certifies that the dog or cat should not be spayed/neutered for health reasons or is permanently non-fertile;

(3) The animal is a trained animal used by or under the authority of a governmental agency in police or rescue work;

(4) Animals transferred to another animal shelter that provides a written agreement to the city that the animal will be sterilized before being placed into a new home located within the corporate limits of the city; or

(5) Animals, picked up for the first time, belonging to a breeder that has:

a. The animal’s microchip number;

b. A copy of the animal’s health statement; and

c. Paid the fee for first offense and all other fees associated with the impoundment of the animal. Should the animal be impounded a second time it will be spay/neutered prior to being released to the owner.

(Ord. No. 2013-478, § 1, 8-20-13)

Washington

King County

  • All dogs and cats over 6 months old must be spayed or neutered unless the guardian buys an unaltered license for $55.
  • The county was also very aggressive at marketing its licenses by making various grocery stores, pet supply shops, and veterinary clinics temporary sales outlets as well as operating door-to-door sales.
  • It is illegal to advertise to King County residents the availability of any unaltered dog or cat.

Chap IV, Sec. 11.04.400. Mandatory Spaying and Neutering A. No person shall own or harbor any cat or dog over the age of six months that has not been spayed or neutered unless the person holds an unaltered animal license for the animal pursuant to K.C.C. 11.04.030.

Chap. IV, Sec. 11.04.510. Unaltered Dogs and Cats. Advertising requirements. No person in unincorporated King County shall publish or advertise to King County residents the availability of any unaltered cat or dog unless the publication or advertisement includes: the unaltered animal’s license number or the animal’s juvenile license number, provided, however that nothing in this chapter shall prohibit licensed breeders from advertising in national publications for sale of a planned litter or litters.

Tahoma

  • It is mandatory to spay or neuter animals impounded for the second time.
  • A licensing differential increased licensing of unaltered animals from $14 to $50.

West Virginia

 

Bluefield

  • Dogs and cats must be spayed or neutered, with some exemptions.
  • Dogs and cats must not be allowed to breed unless the owner has a breeder permit.

Sec. 4-59. – Spaying and neutering.

(a) It is the purpose of this article to promote the health, safety and general welfare of the residents of the city by reducing the number of stray dogs and cats. The council finds that each year hundreds of dogs and cats are euthanized because they are not wanted. It is the purpose of this section to eliminate the excessive number of unwanted animals and thereby stop the needless killing of these animals by restricting the breeding practices of pet owners and breeders through legislation that is both reasonable and enforceable.

(b) It shall be unlawful to own, possess, or keep in the city any dog or cat over the age of six months that has not been spayed or neutered except as provided herein.

(1) Owners must alter their dogs and cats unless:

a. The pet is less than six months old;

b. The owner has obtained an unaltered animal permit from the city clerk to keep the pet intact with the cost of such permit to be $50.00 per animal for the life of the animal;

c. A licensed veterinarian states in writing that the animal is medically unfit to undergo the procedure; or

d. The animal is kept in the city for fewer than 30 days in a one-year period.

(2) To qualify for an unaltered animal permit, the owner must:

a. Satisfy the city clerk that the permit is sought for a proper purpose or purchase a breeding permit.

b. Have the pet examined regularly by a licensed veterinarian.

c. Have the pet vaccinated annually.

d. Have the pet housed properly.

e. Have had no more than one violation of the animal code in the preceding 24 months.

(Code 1974, § 3-40; Ord. No. 2008-5, 4-8-2008)

Sec. 4-62. – Breeding permit.

(a) No person shall cause or allow any dog or cat owned, harbored or kept within the city to breed without first obtaining a breeding permit, as described below. The term “breeding permit” means a written authorization, issued annually by the city clerk, giving its lawful holder permission to breed a dog or cat.

(b) Each breeding permit shall be valid for one year from the date of issuance, and may be renewed annually before its expiration date. Each applicant for such a permit shall pay an annual fee of $30.00 per dog or cat. A separate permit must be obtained for each owned dog or cat which is allowed to breed.

(c) The humane officer shall enforce the animal breeding permit program to allow the breeding of dogs and cats that are not sterilized consistent with criteria herein. Under no circumstances shall such a permit be issued to a person who has been convicted of animal cruelty or neglect. All breeding permits shall contain the following terms and conditions: The owner of a female dog or cat that is not sterilized shall not allow the breeding of more than one litter per animal in any household within the permit year. Notwithstanding this provision, the city clerk is hereby authorized, up [sic] application of a permittee allow [sic] on a one-time basis the breeding of up to two dog or cat litters per breeding animal within any domestic household within a permit year. In the event, that a permittee is forced to euthanize a litter of dogs or cats for medical reasons the city clerk may authorize the breeding of one additional litter of dogs or cats within the same permit year by the permittee without penalty.

(Code 1974, § 3-44; Ord. No. 2008-5, 4-8-2008)

Sec. 4-63. – Penalty for violation of breeding permit provisions.

(a) The penalty for a conviction of violation of section 4-62 shall be a fine of $150.00 for each violation. This penalty shall not be waived by the transfer or abandonment of the animal by the noncompliant owner.

(b) The city clerk may revoke any permit issued pursuant to this section upon a finding that the permit holder has violated its terms and conditions. Such a finding shall be made only after giving the owner of the animal in question notice of the violations and an opportunity to explain such violations to the city clerk.

(Code 1974, § 3-45; Ord. No. 2008-5, 4-8-2008)

The following states require mandatory spaying or neutering of all animals adopted from animal shelters:

Arizona
Arkansas
California
Connecticut
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Illinois
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Michigan
Missouri
Montana
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Mexico
New York
North Dakota
Oklahoma
Rhode Island
Texas
Virginia
West Virginia

 

Connect With PETA

Submit