Skip to Main Content

A Land of Vegan Candy

The following article was written by PETA intern Heather Mangal.

Lollipops and taffy and bonbons! Oh, my! You can be vegan and still feel like a kid in a candy store, with the large variety of accidentally vegan candy options out there. Your sweet tooth will thank you because this guide will have you skipping down the vegan candy lane.

Chocolate Candies

I love eating chocolate when taking bubble baths or when I get those ever-so-often cravings. If you are jonesing for a chocolate fix, go with my top picks: Chocolove Dark Chocolate BarsGhirardelli Twilight Delights, and my ultimate favorite, the Endangered Species dark chocolate collection. It’s my favorite because I am saving animals in more than one way: While indulging in decadent, rich vegan chocolate, a portion of my purchase goes to a fund to help save endangered species.

Lollipops

I have always associated lollipops with special moments from my childhood, but as an adult, I still love them! And the best ones just happen to be vegan. Charm’s Blow Pops and Dum Dums are the vegan winners that will throw you back in time to your elementary school days.

Gummy Candies

If you are like me, candy is the way to go at the movie theater. I always grab some Sour Patch Kids or Swedish Fish. The sweet, chewy goodness of these babies beats popcorn any day, and they are sold at almost every theater. Chewy candies sometimes have gelatin in them, but these are free of animal parts.

Chewy Candies

Taking a road trip? Candy can come to the rescue here too! It can be challenging to stay awake or maintain the momentum to keep driving, and coffee can become too monotonous. My vegan candy picks for long drives are Airheads taffyFruit by the Foot, and Big League Chew gum.

Hard Candies

Are you a hard-candy type of person who likes to reach for the candy bowl at work on a regular basis? For the candy dish at the office, my suggestions are Atomic FireballsBrach’s Cinnamon Hard CandyJolly Ranchers, and Smarties. Having those hard candies melt in your mouth is bound to relieve that everyday stress at work.

Everyone is entitled to indulge their sweet tooth every now and then. So don’t be afraid to reach for the vegan candy options listed here when strolling down the candy aisle. You deserve it! Don’t forget to check out PETA’s list of other accidentally vegan foods.

What is your favorite vegan candy, and when do you enjoy eating it?

Related Posts

Respond
Commenting is closed.
  • GestaltZe says:

    Brenda; the bone char is used for bleaching the sugar, so it’s less likely, I think, that it would be used when making candy. Also, corn syrup is used way more often than sugar as a sweetener.

  • nona(; says:

    mmm i have such a sweeet tooth but trouble finding vegan and partialy healthy deserts =/

  • Liz says:

    Diane, thanks for bringing up red dye!

  • Diane says:

    Beware of red candy, as they may contain the residue of crushed beetles. That’s where that red color comes from. It takes thousands of them to make a small quantity.

  • Heather says:

    When I want a treat, I love Jokerz and Peanut Chews! :))

  • Brenda says:

    I thought that bone char is used in the process of making sugar so wouldn’t that make all candy suspect unless the company can insure that the do not use bone char processed sugar?

  • maturtle says:

    All chocolate recipes should state fair-trade chocolate, because most chocolate is harvested by slave children in Africa. Hershey’s etc should be held accountable.

  • Ashley-P says:

    Sarah: There is no milk listed in the ingredients of Blow Pops on any sources I’ve check online. Can you let me know where you saw this so we can look into it? Thanks!

  • Amanda Lynea says:

    Startburt Jelly Beans! :)

  • Chloe says:

    I love all these, as do the majority of my kids at work.

  • willow_kidd says:

    I miss Conversation Hearts. Not that it matters anyway, I heard the new flavors are nasty. But each year I want my fix. boo

  • Christina says:

    Thanks for the info! Unfortunately blow pops have milk in them, but I do love those sour patch kids!

  • Elizabeth says:

    Now some (and soon to be all) skittles are gelatin-free! I was estactic when I first noticed this!

  • Victoria says:

    Thanks for the tips. Please note that some of the Endangered Species products contain milk and cream. Please be cognizant of that when selecting.

Connect With PETA

Submit