Skip to Main Content
Animals are not ours to eat, wear, experiment on, use for entertainment, or abuse in any other way.

Accidentally Vegan Food List

Vegan Junk Food

Grocery stores carry an array of great-tasting vegan options, including some items that you might not know are vegan. “Accidentally vegan” foods are those that were not created intentionally to be marketed to vegan* eaters.

Please note that this list is just for U.S.-based products, as ingredients can vary by region. Companies frequently change their formulations, so read labels prior to purchasing. We are constantly updating this list, so if you know of a vegan product that isn’t currently listed or if you find a product here that isn’t vegan, please contact PETA.

Thank you, and happy munching!

Breakfast (Dry)
Beverages
Snacks
Condiments
Baked Goods
Refrigerated and Frozen Foods
Baking
Staples

*Items listed may contain trace amounts of animal-derived ingredients. While PETA supports a strict adherence to veganism, we put the task of vigorously reducing animal suffering ahead of personal purity. Boycotting products that are 99.9 percent vegan sends the message to manufacturers that there is no market for this food, which ends up hurting more animals. For a more detailed explanation of PETA’s position, please click here.

Related Posts

Respond
Commenting is closed.
  • SoLucky says:

    Amy’s Kitchen offers a variety of frozen foods that are vegan (and very tasty!) Also, I believe Hershey’s Baking Cocoa is vegan.

  • Natalie says:

    My college has next to nothing that is vegan, except of course the salad bar. But how on earth am I supposed to get protein when all they have is animal protein. Oy vey.
    And I can’t use the rice and almond milk unless I have a gluten allergy. I’m protesting that haha. I want my dairy free milk-beverages!

  • Rita says:

    Are there any vegan cinnimon roll in the refridgerator section in the grocery stores?

  • Ashley-P says:

    Hi civil. While the items on this list may not all be “health foods,” it’s important to show people how easy and convenient being vegan is. It’s great for people to see a list of products they’re familiar with and realize they don’t have to live on salad and tofu for the rest of their lives if they don’t want to.

  • dija says:

    I was just thinking the same thing @Kelly. Everyone needs to do a bit of research so they know what to look for when reading the ingredients label themselves. :) gl

  • Dija says:

    People all companies in the US have to put whether the machinery was also shared w/ any dairy, eggs, tree nuts.. for allergen reasons.

  • civil says:

    Frankly I’m shocked that so many people eat this crap. I eat vegan, have for years, but I’d rather go back to eating meat than some of the crap on that list and stuff that people seem to be happy about.

    I mean, what’s the point? Eating processed foods is bad for you, the environment…pretty much everyone and everything. It’s as if someone was happy they only had to lose one arm instead of both. Totally mind boggling.

  • Kelly says:

    I think it’s funny/scary all of the people asking PETA to add items that are not vegan. Just because something has no eggs and no dairy does not mean it’s vegan. There are many other non-vegan items put in to products besides dairy and eggs.

  • Ninja Squirtle says:

    @Chloe: Gluten is NOT an animal product. It IS vegan-friendly. However, the honey in those Sara Lee breads are NOT vegan-friendly.

    @Namaste0101: As far as I know both products are vegan-friendly. Just make sure to check your label before you buy to double check. :)

  • Ashley-P says:

    Hey namaste0101, Thanks for your comment! I know that cream of wheat is vegan if you use soy/almond/rice milk instead of cow’s milk. Steel cut outs are vegan as well, just make sure you prepare them with other vegan ingredients. Enjoy!

  • namaste0101 says:

    Hi- This is not a comment, its a question. Can you tell me if steep cut oats and cream of wheat are vegan?
    Thanks!1

  • Evan says:

    I’ve been vegan all my life, so Ive been exposed to only vegan foods so i know that there are LOTS of DDEELLIICCIIOOUUSS alternatives out there!

  • Kate says:

    Yuuum, if you are eating dairy, you are not vegan. Just saying..

  • New V says:

    All of the foods and drinks on this list is vegan?
    Kind of hard to believe!

  • Rachel says:

    CatMagnet, Sara Lee’s cherry pie is already on the list.

  • Rachel says:

    Indigo child, which of these products do you claim are not vegan?

    And Chloe, a lot of Sara Lee’s breads contain honey. Gotta be careful.

  • Rachel says:

    Jello is just a brand name. Jello instant pudding does not have gelatin in it. Katie, these are vegan foods.

  • yuuum says:

    woah there,i wont eat any meat but i have to have my milk and eggs and chease and dairy products in general.

  • Chloe says:

    A lot of these foods and companies use GMO’s, please find more GMO-free foods. But thanks for this list!

  • ihartkookiez99 says:

    yess i love alot of these things

  • michelle says:

    Cocolove can be purchased at Target at a very reasonable price and it IS vegan <3

  • michelle says:

    Cocolove can be purchased at Target at a very reasonable price and it IS vegan <3

  • seirra says:

    Arent some of renees salad dressings vegan to? or maybe I just missed it on the list :)

  • Talia says:

    Any Maynard’s candy/jelly candies are vegan.
    And YAY for Oreos and Reese PB Puffs!!!!!

  • Lara says:

    Late July Chocolate and also the Vanilla Bean with Green Tea sandwich cookies are Vegan and really good too!

  • vegpunk says:

    strange, and somewhat questionable? theres actually alot more ore-ida stuff thats vegan i messaged heinz about what products were vegan just thought i’d share it for any newbies, and i’m sooped that they finally updated this stuff, but dont forget you can always contact a company to have them check the products ingredients if you think something is vegan =)

    The below Ore-Ida products are vegan.

    Product UPC Number 1312000…

    Snackin’ Fries® 01198
    Prime
    Golden Fries® 00258
    Golden Fries® 00258
    Golden Fries® 00278
    Golden Crinkles® 00286
    Golden Crinkles® 00286
    Pixie Crinkles® 00296
    Golden Crinkles® 00291
    Golden Crinkles® 00291
    Cottage Fries 00377
    Steak Fries 00800
    Shoestrings 00828
    Shoestrings 00828
    Home Style Potato Wedges 01012
    Specialty
    Tater Tots® w/Onions 00019
    Mini Tater Tots® 00026
    Tater Tots® 00081
    Tater Tots® 00082
    Tater Tots® 00082
    Crispy Crowns!® 00133
    Crispers!® 01036
    Tater Tots® 01203
    Extra Crispy Tater Tots® 01261
    Hashbrowns
    Golden Patties!® (9 count) 00080
    Shredded Hash Browns 00084
    Southern Style Hash Browns 00392
    Potatoes O’Brien 00469
    Country Style Hash Browns 00833
    Battered
    Oven Chips™ 00040
    Country Style Potato Wedges 00318
    Zesty Twirls® 00455
    Golden Twirls® 00483
    Zesties!® 00484
    Texas Crispers!® 00764
    Fajita Seasoned Fries 00808
    Waffle Fries 01176

    Extra Crispy Golden Crinkles® 01250
    Extra Crispy Golden Crinkles® 01260
    Extra Crispy Fast Food Fries™ 01417
    Country Fries 01461
    Onions
    Chopped Onions 00473
    Onion Ringers® 00391
    Onion Ringers® 00856
    Vidalia O’s® 00881
    Gourmet Whole Onion Rings 01428

    Thanks again for contacting us. We appreciate your interest.

    Heinz Consumer Resource Center

  • Leigh says:

    Many Kellogg’s Pop Tarts (unfrosted) are vegan and I don’t see them on the list anywhere.

  • Canaduck says:

    Pete: Cheerios are vegan, don’t worry. This is not a complete list of vegan foods–that would be insane because there’s SO much we can eat! It’s just a short list of convenience foods that you can find in most supermarkets.

  • M says:

    Simply Asia makes vegan noodle bowls too. Im surprise Thai Kitchen was added recently but Simply Asia wasnt!

    I cant remember all of them but some of their vegan dishes include:
    Spicy Kung Pao
    Sesame Teriyaki
    Soy Ginger
    Mandarin orange
    Spicy Mongolian

    And others i think. if anyone can help me fill in this list id appreciate it.

  • faz says:

    I’m obsessed with these vegan sausages we have in Australia, they taste ten time better than meat!!! I just want to add that not having many options being vegan is great cos I’ve lost 20 pounds and have so much energy!

  • Janetpants says:

    just an interesting add, the Target brand (Archer Farms) of fig newtons are vegan. I was happy cause i loooove fig newtons.

  • Anonymous says:

    KATIEEEE- vegans CAN eat these foods.
    NIKKIB- try peta2.com they will help you a lot (with materials, to-do lists, and motivation!

  • KayElCee says:

    Danny the Vegan…there is a difference between Jello gelatin and Jello pudding. The four flavors of pudding listed are vegan. Also, most gelatin is derived from pig skin, cow hides and bones.

  • ellisa says:

    Here is a list of seasonings that Durkee told me were vegan:

    Beef Stew, Burrito, Chili, Chili Pot-O, Fajita, Sloppy Joe, and Taco.

  • erica says:

    To Danny, the Vegan Prince — Jello isn’t on this list. Jello BRAND pudding is. The instant pudding in the box, which is vegan and then you can use your milk substitute to create the pudding.
    Just thought I’d clear that up for you. :)

  • Moon says:

    Um…wheat is NOT gluten-free. Just sayin.

  • Sara says:

    Which items on this list have the “trace amounts of animal-derived ingredients”???? I would like to have the choice. Can you put an “*” beside the one’s that do??? Please….
    I don’t want to eat anything w/ animal anything in it. I LOVE animals – ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • indigo child says:

    This list is seriously lacking and many products are NOT vegan!

  • lyla says:

    in response to above comment, white and wheat whole grain breads aren’t always vegan! many wheat breads contain honey.

  • PMC says:

    How can a food be vegan if it may contain traces of animal derived ingredients? Personally, as a vegan, I don;t wnat any animal derived food – 0 per cent.

  • Chloe says:

    Sara Lee whole grain white and wheat breads are vegan because they contain no eggs or dairy and are gluten free! add them!

  • katherine says:

    @danny, yes jello in the normal sense that you think about. wiggly green stuff. this list only mentions jello *instant* pudding. It’s a non-gelatin product. The ingredients are vegan. It’s supposed to be prepared with cold milk, but obviously vegans could use non-dairy milk. Thus, in this case, jello instant pudding IS vegan.

  • Chloe says:

    A lot of these companies use GMOs. Please PETA can you find more foods without GMOs or gluten.

  • metallipanda says:

    Marie Calander pie crusts are vegan as well, which is awesome….oh and Jello pudding does not contain gelatin…their Jello does….read the label.

  • courtneyflats says:

    In answer to Danny the item listed is pudding not the gelatin dessert Jello is a brand name as well well, jello

  • CatMagnet says:

    Sarah Lee’s cherry pie doesn’t have any dairy or egg. It’s vegan. Add it.

  • Katieeee says:

    Wait is this foods that vegans can or cant eat??

  • danny the vegan prince says:

    jello, any jello, is inherently non-vegan. gelatin, folks. ground up animal ligaments. not so vegan.

  • NikkiB says:

    Thanks for the list! Me and a friend are trying to get our school to serve vegan-friendly foods and this’ll help a lot!! :D

  • Pete says:

    Cheerios aren’t Vegan? Shoot!

Connect With PETA

Submit